Reply
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2011-04-06

Netgear N300 Wireless-N Router - Sony Bravia Internet - Settings

We just bough the new Sony Bravia Model: KDL-55HX800 with built in internet. When I do the network settings it finds my router name once I push the WPS button, but then on the next few steps it fails to fully set up. Do I need to change a setting in the router or on my computer so it will complete the setup?

Thanks,
Nikki
Virtuoso
Posts: 12,951
Registered: ‎2015-07-05

Re: Netgear N300 Wireless-N Router - Sony Bravia Internet - Settings

Doesn’t the Sony have the option to manually set wireless encryption?
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2011-04-06

Re: Netgear N300 Wireless-N Router - Sony Bravia Internet - Settings

I also have the same Netgear router with a Sony Bravia EX-700 series LEDTV. Same thing happened to me today. Tried to get connected wireless with the sony usb dongle and wired also. Would recognize the router but would not connect...I tried for almost 2 hours....when I had AT&T uverse with there home router it worked fine but now since I went to COX and this Netgear router it will not work. But my laptop and PS3 all connect flawless.
Any tips??

I heard that the Sony Google TV's wont recognize a netgear router so I wonder if the connection part of the Sonys is the same..?
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2011-04-06

Re: Netgear N300 Wireless-N Router - Sony Bravia Internet - Settings

Talked to Sony and Cox and noone can tell me any tips on how to fix it. Is there something on the netgear router I need to change?
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2011-04-06

Re: Netgear N300 Wireless-N Router - Sony Bravia Internet - Settings

Actually my Model is the Sony Bravia EX723
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Netgear N300 Wireless-N Router - Sony Bravia Internet - Settings

have you setup static IP on TV and try?
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2011-04-06

Re: Netgear N300 Wireless-N Router - Sony Bravia Internet - Settings

Not sure how to set it up for a static IP...but I did get a Belkin N300 from a friend to try and as soon as I hooked it the Sony recognized it and all my tv internet apps worked perfect. The only problem was the Belkin was garbage for wireless internet on my laptop and phone. Pure Garbage! I switched back to the Netgear and now my internet is great again but no TV internet again! Has to be something with Sony and Netgear...
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2011-04-06

Re: Netgear N300 Wireless-N Router - Sony Bravia Internet - Settings

I did "auto" on all the IP settings. It sounds to me like the TV and the router aren't communicating correctly. Sony customer services was slow and did not help at all.
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2011-04-06

Re: Netgear N300 Wireless-N Router - Sony Bravia Internet - Settings

My husband just manually entered the IP address and whatever other information and it works....Smiley Happy
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Netgear N300 Wireless-N Router - Sony Bravia Internet - Settings

usually work that way when you setup static IP.. enjoy
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2011-04-06

Re: Netgear N300 Wireless-N Router - Sony Bravia Internet - Settings

Okay I did the manual setup and it connected. Thanks!!Smiley Happy
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2011-07-17

Re: Netgear N300 Wireless-N Router - Sony Bravia Internet - Settings

I am still having trouble with this. The router recognizes the Sony, the Sony says the wireless device is OK, local access is OK, but the internet access is failed. Any suggestions?
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Netgear N300 Wireless-N Router - Sony Bravia Internet - Settings

Put ISP DNS in tv's network properties
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2011-07-17

Re: Netgear N300 Wireless-N Router - Sony Bravia Internet - Settings

It works! Thank you very, very much!
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Netgear N300 Wireless-N Router - Sony Bravia Internet - Settings

Your welcome... enjoy it. Smiley Happy
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2011-08-03

Re: Netgear N300 Wireless-N Router - Sony Bravia Internet - Settings

jmizoguchi wrote:
usually work that way when you setup static IP.. enjoy


Hi I have a Netgear N300 and a Sony Bravia KDL-40EX720

My Sony TV are wired to the N300, but I can't get access to the internet, if I connect the Sony TV direct to the DSL model, no problem, I have no problems with wired or wireless computers at the N300, but I can't get access to my Sony TV ?? any tips ??
I have noticed the IP addresses in the TV, when direct connected to DSL, then I have tried to enter the IP addresses manually when the TV been connected through N300, nothings helps

best regards
Torben
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2011-08-03

Re: Netgear N300 Wireless-N Router - Sony Bravia Internet - Settings

Sorry to say, I have solved the problem by myself... it were quite hard, I have entered the IP address, GW, DNS etc. manually in the Sony TV, then i'm up and running.. but were quite hard to find the right values for the different entries.. I read in the forum, that's the solution, but again, not easy to find the addresses..

Best regards
tjhim
Retired_Member
Posts: 0

Re: Netgear N300 Wireless-N Router - Sony Bravia Internet - Settings

Verify the router lan port with another PC Verify router is set to DHCP on lan Verify TV is also set for DHCP Make sure router has enough IPs available. Try a factory reset on the TV with it connected to the router.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Netgear N300 Wireless-N Router - Sony Bravia Internet - Settings

tjhim wrote:
Hi I have a Netgear N300 and a Sony Bravia KDL-40EX720

My Sony TV are wired to the N300, but I can't get access to the internet, if I connect the Sony TV direct to the DSL model, no problem, I have no problems with wired or wireless computers at the N300, but I can't get access to my Sony TV ?? any tips ??
I have noticed the IP addresses in the TV, when direct connected to DSL, then I have tried to enter the IP addresses manually when the TV been connected through N300, nothings helps

best regards
Torben



use ISP DNS in the TV side when you setup static IP and see
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Discussion Stats
  • 18 replies
  • 15426 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 7 in conversation
Top Contributors