Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎2010-08-01

New Firmware Posted: WNDR3700/WNDR37AV Firmware Version 1.0.7.98

Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2010-11-21

Re: New Firmware Posted: WNDR3700/WNDR37AV Firmware Version 1.0.7.98

Hmmm wounder if it is worth trying since I am already using openwrt
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2010-11-27

Re: New Firmware Posted: WNDR3700/WNDR37AV Firmware Version 1.0.7.98

orion7144 wrote:
Hmmm wounder if it is worth trying since I am already using openwrt
How is openwrt working for you?
Tutor
Posts: 181
Registered: ‎2010-12-29

Re: New Firmware Posted: WNDR3700/WNDR37AV Firmware Version 1.0.7.98

Well i jumped in headfirst and flashed 1.0.7.98

Did a 30-30-30 before AND after flash

Setup router completely. I am using the following features

WiFi
traffic meter
QOS (by MAC)
Port forwarding

USB is shut off, as well i dont use DHCP reservations

Servers, internet, all local stuff working. Page loads are fast.

Now the wait...
Guide
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎2011-01-04

Re: New Firmware Posted: WNDR3700/WNDR37AV Firmware Version 1.0.7.98

I just installed it, time will tell but i hope they got this one right as the new linksys is tempting.
Aspirant
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎2010-01-12

Re: New Firmware Posted: WNDR3700/WNDR37AV Firmware Version 1.0.7.98

Wow alot of fixes listed there, looks like they are paying attentionSmiley Very Happy. hope this works.......
Aspirant
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎2011-01-01

Re: New Firmware Posted: WNDR3700/WNDR37AV Firmware Version 1.0.7.98

Tank_Killer wrote:
Well i jumped in headfirst and flashed 1.0.7.98

Did a 30-30-30 before AND after flash



I was feeling adventurous and went through it straightway without resetting to factory either before or after. The settings were retained, and now the wait begins
Aspirant
Posts: 509
Registered: ‎2010-06-12

Re: New Firmware Posted: WNDR3700/WNDR37AV Firmware Version 1.0.7.98

i told you guys a new version would be soon... i was coming to post this tonight but got beat to it... so far working well for me but we will wait and see
Systems repair, network specialist and Netgear reseller / beta tester.



"Some days your the windshield. Some days your the bug"



Frylock: You know what tonight is?

Carl: Yeah the night I'm downloading porn at 14 kilobytes a second!

Carl: Ha! I'm just kidding. I got a netgear 4000 back here.
Aspirant
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎2011-01-30

Re: New Firmware Posted: WNDR3700/WNDR37AV Firmware Version 1.0.7.98

So are we safe to assume a v2 firmware will be out soon?
Aspirant
Posts: 509
Registered: ‎2010-06-12

Re: New Firmware Posted: WNDR3700/WNDR37AV Firmware Version 1.0.7.98

pretty soon.... i just cant say any more...but they are working on it trust me
Systems repair, network specialist and Netgear reseller / beta tester.



"Some days your the windshield. Some days your the bug"



Frylock: You know what tonight is?

Carl: Yeah the night I'm downloading porn at 14 kilobytes a second!

Carl: Ha! I'm just kidding. I got a netgear 4000 back here.
Aspirant
Posts: 509
Registered: ‎2010-06-12

Re: New Firmware Posted: WNDR3700/WNDR37AV Firmware Version 1.0.7.98

still not overall as fast as .75 imo. though everything i have tested so far is working. imo pages do load fast but not as fast as .75. ill be fully testing this later in the day tomm and running it through its paces pretty hard
Systems repair, network specialist and Netgear reseller / beta tester.



"Some days your the windshield. Some days your the bug"



Frylock: You know what tonight is?

Carl: Yeah the night I'm downloading porn at 14 kilobytes a second!

Carl: Ha! I'm just kidding. I got a netgear 4000 back here.
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2010-11-18

Re: New Firmware Posted: WNDR3700/WNDR37AV Firmware Version 1.0.7.98

Looks good! My connected devices are finally listed again with IP-addresses, hopefully the slow webpages are really fixed! Smiley Happy
Aspirant
Posts: 509
Registered: ‎2010-06-12

Re: New Firmware Posted: WNDR3700/WNDR37AV Firmware Version 1.0.7.98

arghh wish i could edit posts... anyway reloading a page is def SLOWER than .75. not sure why but if i go straight to a page it is fast but on some pages if i reload them it seems to take a while
Systems repair, network specialist and Netgear reseller / beta tester.



"Some days your the windshield. Some days your the bug"



Frylock: You know what tonight is?

Carl: Yeah the night I'm downloading porn at 14 kilobytes a second!

Carl: Ha! I'm just kidding. I got a netgear 4000 back here.
Aspirant
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎2010-08-01

Re: New Firmware Posted: WNDR3700/WNDR37AV Firmware Version 1.0.7.98

I found a potential problem on my system. I cannot access my workgroup in XP including my USB drives attached to the router. Restarts do not solve the problem. This did not happen before I flashed to to .7.98

Not all devices (including a Dell printer) show up on Attached Devices.

UPnP is now shown as "Available" on my PS3. DLNA works great.

Wireless speeds on both radios very good.
Aspirant
Posts: 509
Registered: ‎2010-06-12

Re: New Firmware Posted: WNDR3700/WNDR37AV Firmware Version 1.0.7.98

also initial connection of my laptops wifi cards is VERY slow compared to .75 it takes a lot longer to connected fully.
Systems repair, network specialist and Netgear reseller / beta tester.



"Some days your the windshield. Some days your the bug"



Frylock: You know what tonight is?

Carl: Yeah the night I'm downloading porn at 14 kilobytes a second!

Carl: Ha! I'm just kidding. I got a netgear 4000 back here.
Guide
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎2009-09-07

Re: New Firmware Posted: WNDR3700/WNDR37AV Firmware Version 1.0.7.98

Well, loaded 7.98 into both my 3700's (one configured as an access point). I don't do the reset thing but I do reboot the 3700 before upgrading....if I don't reboot first I get an upgrade failed message.

All settings carried over just fine. Pageloads are very fast now, all devices show up in the attached devices page. Everything connects to wireless just fine. Will have to test over time to see if all the known anomalies were fixed, but so far everything seems fine. Haven't turned on IPV6 yet. Be interesting to see the yet to come feedback.
Aspirant
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎2010-08-01

Re: New Firmware Posted: WNDR3700/WNDR37AV Firmware Version 1.0.7.98

Router does not show up in my Network places in either XP or Vista machines (wireless and wired). Big problem.

Anyone else have this problem?
Aspirant
Posts: 509
Registered: ‎2010-06-12

Re: New Firmware Posted: WNDR3700/WNDR37AV Firmware Version 1.0.7.98

seems fine for me on win7. i dont have xp or vista anymore here
Systems repair, network specialist and Netgear reseller / beta tester.



"Some days your the windshield. Some days your the bug"



Frylock: You know what tonight is?

Carl: Yeah the night I'm downloading porn at 14 kilobytes a second!

Carl: Ha! I'm just kidding. I got a netgear 4000 back here.
Aspirant
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎2011-01-19

Re: New Firmware Posted: WNDR3700/WNDR37AV Firmware Version 1.0.7.98

seems fine for me for vista and XP I can see network neighbor hood just fine., I like it so far,
Big test later too see if games will play all night long and no disconnects.

Wonder if that's fixed. if so I think I have a Winner.

Chris
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2010-11-21

Re: New Firmware Posted: WNDR3700/WNDR37AV Firmware Version 1.0.7.98

bimmerdriver wrote:
How is openwrt working for you?


I loaded it and configured it and haven't looked back. There was a learning curve though. But with the positive vibe about this 7.98 I think I am going to load it this weekend.
Aspirant
Posts: 192
Registered: ‎2010-12-31

Re: New Firmware Posted: WNDR3700/WNDR37AV Firmware Version 1.0.7.98

this explains the phonecall i got yesterday to rule out a bug i had before releasing this!

i can live with the lack of TKIP and AES on both 2.4ghz as i have an old router setup as a AP to get round it now.

fingers crossed the issue with game servers is fixed.
Aspirant
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎2011-01-09

Re: New Firmware Posted: WNDR3700/WNDR37AV Firmware Version 1.0.7.98

Installed new firmware.. Interesting to see my new IPv6 address.. And it IS working too! I can visit http://ipv6.google.com/ now..
Brandon M

Network Administration/Security
Guide
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎2009-09-07

Re: New Firmware Posted: WNDR3700/WNDR37AV Firmware Version 1.0.7.98

Been using it about 4 hours now. Page loads are definetly faster than .75 for me. Also my ping in the games I play is improved by about 10%.

Still haven't turned on ipv6 yet. Maybe thats a contiributor to the slower page loads some people have been posting about. So far, all's good for me.
Aspirant
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎2008-09-17

Re: New Firmware Posted: WNDR3700/WNDR37AV Firmware Version 1.0.7.98

Just uploaded this firmware and so far so good. Fast loading sites and no disconnections. The only thing which is present again (was working in .75, .92 and .100) that the attached devices tab isn't working. Doesn't show a damn thing. Did the 30-30-30 reset and software reset within the router and setup my 3700 again.
Tutor
Posts: 2,017
Registered: ‎2010-02-22

Re: New Firmware Posted: WNDR3700/WNDR37AV Firmware Version 1.0.7.98

Keitosha wrote:
Just uploaded this firmware and so far so good. Fast loading sites and no disconnections. The only thing which is present again (was working in .75, .92 and .100) that the attached devices tab isn't working. Doesn't show a damn thing. Did the 30-30-30 reset and software reset within the router and setup my 3700 again.


If all of your devices are connected through a switch it might take a while for the broadcast to be picked up.. If your connected wirelessly or directly then it deffo should show up...


They changed minor revisions on me... I have been trawling the FTP server for non-published versions, grrr... Ah well, Time to load this up and see what it's like Smiley Wink
Top Contributors