Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎2010-03-09

Problem WNR1000v2-VC

I just got a WNR1000v2-VC from Comcast, I originally had a WGT624v4 because when I play xbox 360 online (its 30 feet from my router) I get disconnected after 10 minutes, so I got a WNR1000v2 from Comcast and it still isn't any better. Also the WGT624v4 gives me way better connection for my computer and laptop but the WNR1000v2 gives me a bad connection. Is there something wrong with it?
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Problem WNR1000v2-VC

plenty of thread legacy 54Mbps routers runs better over using N routers

use 2.4Ghz at 54Mbps and test (router settings)
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Problem WNR1000v2-VC

Wrong area
moving to rangemax next routers
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎2010-03-09

Re: Problem WNR1000v2-VC

Sorry I'm a newb but how do I fix the settings? To make it more better. Also the router I got the from Comcast is better right?
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Problem WNR1000v2-VC

jaheeezy wrote:
Sorry I'm a newb but how do I fix the settings? To make it more better. Also the router I got the from Comcast is better right?


use 2.4Ghz at 54Mbps and test (router settings)

login the router...
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎2010-03-09

Re: Problem WNR1000v2-VC

Yeah how do I look at the settings, on my computer? Because right now I'm using the other router not the WNR1000v2, because I have better connection for my computer.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Problem WNR1000v2-VC

jaheeezy wrote:
Yeah how do I look at the settings, on my computer? Because right now I'm using the other router not the WNR1000v2, because I have better connection for my computer.


hook up pc with wired to router(wnr2000)... how much choice you got... think a little a bit. Smiley Happy
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Highlighted
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎2010-05-18

Re: Problem WNR1000v2-VC

jaheezy - did you get this resolved? You documentation should tell you how to log into your router. In your Internet Explorer browser from a cable connected (not wi-fi) computer, type in this address: 192.168.1.1 If you get a login prompt, then you're going the right direction. Login is normally "admin", but passwords vary. I think the default on mine was "password". (Once you're in, I suggest changing it to something else.) Anyway, look for wireless settings (advanced settings?) to change the speed. I use mine with an xbox 360 wireless adapter and it works fine. Hopefully yours is already fixed.
Initial Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2010-10-04

Re: Problem WNR1000v2-VC

FYI:: WNR1000v2-VC actually is running opensource firmware OPENWRT

I just picked up a 2nd one today from comcast and it has the old firmware according to the GUI and it will not run the netgear firmware as the kernal is linux based and running OpenWRT kamikaze. 7.09 if you call netgear that can't support this version with -VC you must contact comcast and ask to talk to their netgear team. Several of that team will refer you back to netgear which is incorrect as their is not netgear supported firmware on that version of the router.

you can see for yourself by defaulting the router to factory settings, connecting via a LAN connection not wireless using 192.168.1.1 for the router then running the enabletelnet tool (google for it)

enabletelnet 192.168.1.1 MACADDRESS Gearguy Geardog
* mac address is the mac address of the router in all caps

then telnet to 192.168.1.1 and look at that it's OpenWRT
N/A
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2012-02-10

Re: Problem WNR1000v2-VC

I cannot connect to my netgear wnr1000v2-vc modem online. The username and password are not the defult and i have alrdy reset it maybe 4 times now the correct way and i cannot enter it. I have to put port numbers for a game i am playing so it would connect to it.
Discussion Stats
  • 9 replies
  • 28400 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 5 in conversation
Top Contributors