Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2011-09-30

Repeater WGR614v9 and Dlink WBR-1310

Hi,

I'm quite a newb when it comes to routers. My roommate has a WGR614v9, currently not connected, that she has no clue about how it was set up before. I have a Dlink WBR-1310 which is currently running as our wifi network. I was wondering if I can use her router as a repeater or vice versa - connect hers to the Ethernet and use mine as a repeater?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Repeater WGR614v9 and Dlink WBR-1310

repeating is possible on V9 of the router but you will compromise the encryption down to WEP or None so I would say ditch the idea if you are thinking about wirelessly connecting these two together.

only other way is to use ethernet cable each other

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/965
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2011-09-30

Re: Repeater WGR614v9 and Dlink WBR-1310

jmizoguchi wrote:
repeating is possible on V9 of the router but you will compromise the encryption down to WEP or None so I would say ditch the idea if you are thinking about wirelessly connecting these two together.

only other way is to use ethernet cable each other

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/965


I believe it is currently set as WEP.... I'm guessing from the way you wrote about it that it is a very low level of security? Are there any router that allow repeating and a higher level of security?

Let me ask you something else if you don't mind:
Will it be easier to use the same type of router (basically buying two of the same type) if I wish to use one as a repeater?
If it is, then which one allows repeating from these: Linksys E1000, Belkin N150 Wireless N Router, and D-Link DIR-601 Wireless N 150

Thanks again!
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Repeater WGR614v9 and Dlink WBR-1310

you best choice is WN2000RPT, WN3000, WNCE2001 extender which will give you use higher encryption

WEP are hackable 100%, I would avoid that if you can use ex. WPA2 with current wifi devices on your router before about repeating. if you can the above model works well for you

across the border , all manufacture do use WEP for repeating 9/10
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2011-09-30

Re: Repeater WGR614v9 and Dlink WBR-1310

jmizoguchi wrote:
you best choice is WN2000RPT, WN3000, WNCE2001 extender which will give you use higher encryption

WEP are hackable 100%, I would avoid that if you can use ex. WPA2 with current wifi devices on your router before about repeating. if you can the above model works well for you

across the border , all manufacture do use WEP for repeating 9/10


Excellent advice.

What about using that "DD-WRT" thing with a decent router? Will that increase my range significantly?
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Repeater WGR614v9 and Dlink WBR-1310

if you have compatible router you can explore better firmware but not necessary makes range dramatically better
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2011-09-30

Re: Repeater WGR614v9 and Dlink WBR-1310

jmizoguchi wrote:
if you have compatible router you can explore better firmware but not necessary makes range dramatically better


What about does huge antennas?

or this - http://www.firefold.com/TP-LINK-WA730RE-150Mbps-Wireless-Range-Extender-P31019.aspx?afid=67&gclid=CO...
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Repeater WGR614v9 and Dlink WBR-1310

you are asking thing you need to try and error
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2011-09-30

Re: Repeater WGR614v9 and Dlink WBR-1310

jmizoguchi wrote:
you are asking thing you need to try and error


Ok... I will either buy and antenna or go for the suggestion you made with using it as an access point and running a wire to my dlink.

I will need the wire to run for about 25ft....
Is it a standard ethernet wire?
Where can I get a wire like that for cheap?
can I cut one and re plug it?
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Repeater WGR614v9 and Dlink WBR-1310

Is it a standard ethernet wire?


yes..

you can try go to local computer shop to make you one but I would get pre-make cable since those are stranded able and make easier to lay on the floor.

go newegg.ccom or something or even amazon
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Discussion Stats
  • 11 replies
  • 5887 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 2 in conversation
Top Contributors