Reply
Regular Contributor
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎2011-03-26

Router Bricked

I logged into my WNDR4500 and noticed that there was a firmware update. I told it to download, and it just kept saying it was uploading. After about an hour, I completely lost all internet connectivity, so I unplugged the router and plugged it back in. Now my computer can't see the router at all (It's wired). Did it brick? If so, will the warranty cover this (Had it for 2 months)?
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 12,950
Registered: ‎2015-07-05

Re: Router Bricked

Have you tried factory resetting the router, there should be a small pushbutton for this purpose.

Take a look here; http://vpncasestudy.com/reset.html
Contributor
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎2011-09-25

Re: Router Bricked

maybe the FW is crashed, you can use tftp to recovery it.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎2011-03-26

Re: Router Bricked

billshih1975 wrote:
maybe the FW is crashed, you can use tftp to recovery it.


How would I do that (EXACTLY lol)?
Regular Contributor
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎2011-03-26

Re: Router Bricked

Mars Mug wrote:
Have you tried factory resetting the router, there should be a small pushbutton for this purpose.

Take a look here; http://vpncasestudy.com/reset.html


I tried that, all 4 options. Still doesn't work.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎2011-03-26

Re: Router Bricked

If it helps any, I do have an 8 port switch, and more than enough ethernet cable.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 1,845
Registered: ‎2010-12-22

Re: Router Bricked

When you get the router working again, please read the link in my sig. I know that Netgear includes this function in the router and that a user shouldn't have to do anything different. However, updating any firmware, be it BIOS, router or whatever -- the way you did is always taking a big risk. The information contained in the link attempts to reduce the risk as much as possible.

Available firmware for the WNDR4500 can be found by clicking HERE.

Good luck.
_____
WNDR3700v1 (v1.0.7.98NA) - Router uptime (d:h:m:s): 1155:02:31:46 - How To Check and Change Your Router's Firmware: http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63234
Regular Contributor
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎2011-03-26

Re: Router Bricked

I do have an old Netgear WG602 v4 Access Point. Would it be possible for me to put this behind the switch and have things connect to it? How EXACTLY would I do this? I mean, I know how to hook it up, but I don't imagine it's going to be plug and play, I'm going to have to some configuration?
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Router Bricked

kturcotte wrote:
I tried that, all 4 options. Still doesn't work.



if reset does not help, try tftp method

http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=30453

also newer router model now come with recovery tool on CD that supplies with a router. I would check this first before TFTP method above
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Regular Contributor
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎2011-03-26

Re: Router Bricked

jmizoguchi wrote:
if reset does not help, try tftp method

http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=30453

also newer router model now come with recovery tool on CD that supplies with a router. I would check this first before TFTP method above


I even tried that. TWICE. STILL didn't work. I think it's good and bricked unfortunately.
Discussion Stats
  • 27 replies
  • 8321 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 5 in conversation
Top Contributors