Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎2011-03-26

Router Bricked

I logged into my WNDR4500 and noticed that there was a firmware update. I told it to download, and it just kept saying it was uploading. After about an hour, I completely lost all internet connectivity, so I unplugged the router and plugged it back in. Now my computer can't see the router at all (It's wired). Did it brick? If so, will the warranty cover this (Had it for 2 months)?
Virtuoso
Posts: 12,951
Registered: ‎2015-07-05

Re: Router Bricked

Have you tried factory resetting the router, there should be a small pushbutton for this purpose.

Take a look here; http://vpncasestudy.com/reset.html
Aspirant
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎2011-09-25

Re: Router Bricked

maybe the FW is crashed, you can use tftp to recovery it.
Aspirant
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎2011-03-26

Re: Router Bricked

billshih1975 wrote:
maybe the FW is crashed, you can use tftp to recovery it.


How would I do that (EXACTLY lol)?
Aspirant
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎2011-03-26

Re: Router Bricked

Mars Mug wrote:
Have you tried factory resetting the router, there should be a small pushbutton for this purpose.

Take a look here; http://vpncasestudy.com/reset.html


I tried that, all 4 options. Still doesn't work.
Aspirant
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎2011-03-26

Re: Router Bricked

If it helps any, I do have an 8 port switch, and more than enough ethernet cable.
Tutor
Posts: 1,845
Registered: ‎2010-12-22

Re: Router Bricked

When you get the router working again, please read the link in my sig. I know that Netgear includes this function in the router and that a user shouldn't have to do anything different. However, updating any firmware, be it BIOS, router or whatever -- the way you did is always taking a big risk. The information contained in the link attempts to reduce the risk as much as possible.

Available firmware for the WNDR4500 can be found by clicking HERE.

Good luck.
_____
WNDR3700v1 (v1.0.7.98NA) - Router uptime (d:h:m:s): 1155:02:31:46 - How To Check and Change Your Router's Firmware: http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63234
Aspirant
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎2011-03-26

Re: Router Bricked

I do have an old Netgear WG602 v4 Access Point. Would it be possible for me to put this behind the switch and have things connect to it? How EXACTLY would I do this? I mean, I know how to hook it up, but I don't imagine it's going to be plug and play, I'm going to have to some configuration?
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Router Bricked

kturcotte wrote:
I tried that, all 4 options. Still doesn't work.



if reset does not help, try tftp method

http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=30453

also newer router model now come with recovery tool on CD that supplies with a router. I would check this first before TFTP method above
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎2011-03-26

Re: Router Bricked

jmizoguchi wrote:
if reset does not help, try tftp method

http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=30453

also newer router model now come with recovery tool on CD that supplies with a router. I would check this first before TFTP method above


I even tried that. TWICE. STILL didn't work. I think it's good and bricked unfortunately.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Router Bricked

Probably so....
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎2011-03-26

Re: Router Bricked

jmizoguchi wrote:
Probably so....


New router time. Have you seen this: http://www.netgear.com/home/products/wirelessrouters/ultimate-performance/WNDR4700.aspx Think it's worth waiting for?
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Router Bricked

If you are person like to buy latest & greatest products then you can but also new one supports 450Mbps but you need wifi adapter to support .

You could save money with current retail products
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎2011-03-26

Re: Router Bricked

Would it be possible to have one of those BEHIND my main router (And turn off routing features)? What I'd like is to have it in my garage, and see and connect to my main router, and allow automatic backups to it's hard drive. I realize it's not out yet, so you might not know all the details.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Router Bricked

See router setup ont sig below.

You find what you need to do. Depending on
Service type you have for broadband modem it will be an issues like AT&T uverse service, etc
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎2011-03-26

Re: Router Bricked

Is there something else, that's better or easier, that would allow this too?
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Router Bricked

kturcotte wrote:
Is there something else, that's better or easier, that would allow this too?


really could not help you without broadband type , device model etc.
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎2011-03-26

Re: Router Bricked

Oh sorry. It's a cable modem, Time Warner Cable (Road Runner). What I REALLY want it a wireless NAS that sits in my garage, but is connected to my wireless router, and allows automatic updating/backing up using my computer.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Router Bricked

I don't see any issues. buy the model that you like
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎2011-03-26

Re: Router Bricked

I haven't played with NAS before though. Any recommendations? It DOES to be able to accept a 3TB SATA drive.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Router Bricked

just by REAL NAS not rely on USB base.

throughput is horrible anyway
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎2011-03-26

Re: Router Bricked

Would the RND2110 work? I take it wireless isn't built in though? I'd need something to make it work wirelessly right?
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Router Bricked

never use wireless on NAS

I use it's model on gigabit right now for testing
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎2011-03-26

Re: Router Bricked

I HAVE to use it wireless. I have NO way to get a cable to to it at all.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Router Bricked

kturcotte wrote:
I HAVE to use it wireless. I have NO way to get a cable to to it at all.


why put NAS on wireless where you do not need to right next to you. place same place as where your router will be.

it's not your network so you decide what you want.

there is nothing really has a issue anymore. just make decision you like. you ask 10 people they say some different. At end, it's your network.
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Discussion Stats
  • 27 replies
  • 9306 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 5 in conversation
Top Contributors