× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Router stops working after brief power outage

Jasonrph
Novice

Router stops working after brief power outage

Hello everyone,

My router is actually the RangeMax Duo WNDR3300, but I couldn't see that forum. Sorry.

This has happened twice now. If we lose power briefly, my routers stop working (after the power comes back on of course). I follow all the basic reset process (turn both modem and router off, power on modem, then after it is fine power on the router).

It seems like it just wont accept any information coming from the modem. I actually have an older Netgear router and it will not work either.

This happened about a month ago, and after about 2 days of not having wireless in the house...I hooked it back up, and it worked.

Now I am down again.

Anyone have an idea about what is going on? I truly appreciate the help. I'm a pharmacist...and will gladly reciprocate with prescription knowledge! LOL.

Thanks!

Jason
Message 1 of 9

Accepted Solutions
jmizoguchi
Virtuoso

Investing in APC backup UPS will help you with power outage and have less issues.

I would remove ALL power supply and network cables and let sit for 30 min, router and broadband.

start with broadband modem ONLY and wait
after all the light is up on modem, hook up the router and see

View solution in original post

Message 2 of 9

All Replies
jmizoguchi
Virtuoso

Investing in APC backup UPS will help you with power outage and have less issues.

I would remove ALL power supply and network cables and let sit for 30 min, router and broadband.

start with broadband modem ONLY and wait
after all the light is up on modem, hook up the router and see
Message 2 of 9
Jasonrph
Novice

jmizoguchi,

I did exactly what you said. 3 things:

1. It WORKED!

2. You're a genius