Reply
N/A
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2012-01-17

Router stops working after brief power outage

Hello everyone,

My router is actually the RangeMax Duo WNDR3300, but I couldn't see that forum. Sorry.

This has happened twice now. If we lose power briefly, my routers stop working (after the power comes back on of course). I follow all the basic reset process (turn both modem and router off, power on modem, then after it is fine power on the router).

It seems like it just wont accept any information coming from the modem. I actually have an older Netgear router and it will not work either.

This happened about a month ago, and after about 2 days of not having wireless in the house...I hooked it back up, and it worked.

Now I am down again.

Anyone have an idea about what is going on? I truly appreciate the help. I'm a pharmacist...and will gladly reciprocate with prescription knowledge! LOL.

Thanks!

Jason
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Router stops working after brief power outage

Investing in APC backup UPS will help you with power outage and have less issues.

I would remove ALL power supply and network cables and let sit for 30 min, router and broadband.

start with broadband modem ONLY and wait
after all the light is up on modem, hook up the router and see
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
N/A
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2012-01-17

Re: Router stops working after brief power outage

jmizoguchi,

I did exactly what you said. 3 things:

1. It WORKED!

2. You're a genius

3. Anyone know WHY this works? Why did I have to disconnect everything for 30 minutes? What's the magic? Don't get me wrong...I'm happy!! But I'm just curious from a technical side...why disconnecting for a couple minutes didn't work...but 40 minutes did.

Anyway...THANKS AGAIN!!!!

Jason
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,134
Registered: ‎2011-11-12

Re: Router stops working after brief power outage

Well that is the standard power up policy when you have a modem and router. Power up modem first and wait until it finishes, then power up the router. The router has to retrieve information from the modem, if it's not there... no connection. As JM said, put them on a UPS.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Router stops working after brief power outage

Jasonrph wrote:
jmizoguchi,

I did exactly what you said. 3 things:

1. It WORKED!

2. You're a genius

3. Anyone know WHY this works? Why did I have to disconnect everything for 30 minutes? What's the magic? Don't get me wrong...I'm happy!! But I'm just curious from a technical side...why disconnecting for a couple minutes didn't work...but 40 minutes did.

Anyway...THANKS AGAIN!!!!

Jason


Usually it takes ISP to clear the up the their network are easiest way to say.

I say 20min are need when I have to do some troubleshoot with my comcast and this does not matter if you have WNDRxxx serials. I have ProsSecure business class router and does the same.
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Initial Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2015-08-22

Re: Router stops working after brief power outage

Thanks for your information.  I have been trying everything to get my router to work again and after I tried this it works great!

Discussion Stats
  • 5 replies
  • 43955 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 4 in conversation
Top Contributors