Reply
Regular Contributor
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎2011-03-26

Setting Static IP Address

I need to either setup a static IP address for a component on my network, or even better, set up a DHCP reservation for it. I have a Netgear WNR2000 v3. However, this goes directly into a Netgear GS608 v3 switch. All of my components are off of this. Is there anyway I can do this?
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Setting Static IP Address

login the router >lan setup> address reservation

manual of the router has this information

GS switch unmanaged so doesn't really matter how you look at it
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Regular Contributor
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎2011-03-26

Re: Setting Static IP Address

jmizoguchi wrote:
login the router >lan setup> address reservation

manual of the router has this information

GS switch unmanaged so doesn't really matter how you look at it


I did that. So now that device will ALWAYS have that IP Address upon boot up?
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Setting Static IP Address

why don't you check.. should .. also router needs to be power cycled on/off
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Regular Contributor
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎2011-03-26

Re: Setting Static IP Address

jmizoguchi wrote:
why don't you check.. should .. also router needs to be power cycled on/off


Power cycling the router is the problem. Then I have to power cycle the switch, and the 5 devices attached to it, plus the Ooma device, which means no phone (I don't live alone). It's a NIGHTMARE to do during the day.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Setting Static IP Address

????

when you change the setting from DHCP client device to pushing IP from the router which are different fromIP that device received from the IP router then you will ONLY needy power cycle when you do the change. Do NOT need daily power cycle

FS is just unmange dummy switch so so power cycle the switch is useless
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Setting Static IP Address

GS is just unmanage switch and ANY of setting you do change is router does not effect the switch
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Regular Contributor
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎2011-03-26

Re: Setting Static IP Address

jmizoguchi wrote:
????

when you change the setting from DHCP client device to pushing IP from the router which are different fromIP that device received from the IP router then you will ONLY needy power cycle when you do the change. Do NOT need daily power cycle

FS is just unmange dummy switch so so power cycle the switch is useless


I don't intend to do it every day. It's just doing ANY power cycling involving the router involves losing the phone (Since the Ooma device is attached directly to the router), plus I should power everything in line down and power them up one at a time, right?
Highlighted
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Setting Static IP Address

I would only worried about the devices that you changed for address reservation, broadband and router to be power cycle as below

1. broadband
2. router
3. devices ( changed devices for address reservation
4. rest does not need power cycle
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Discussion Stats
  • 8 replies
  • 10631 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 2 in conversation
Top Contributors