Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎2012-03-18

Trouble wndr4500 wlan & iphone

Having trouble with wndr4500 via wlan to Iphones.
All windows-pcs run fine on the 4500.
An ipad also.
1 iphone also.
But 3 other iphones cannot connect.
Detects the wlan from the wndr 4500 ok, but cannot connect.
(aborts before coming to the pasword entry field.)
Same 3 iphones work ok on other wlans.
wndr4500 set up as wpa-psk2(aes), up to 450 mbps.

Same 3 iphones work ok on another wndr4500 with another setup:
wpa-psk(tkip) + wpa2-psk(aes) up to 217 mbps.

So whats so touchy with these iphones ??
Have read problems with iphones on this link:
https://discussions.apple.com/thread/2670373?start=0&tstart=0

Could it be that some iphones do not like 450 mbps?
Or dont they like wpa2-psk(aes)??

Thanks in advance for any comment.

regards
snofte

Same 3 iphones work ok on another wndr4500 !!!
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎2012-01-03

Re: Trouble wndr4500 wlan & iphone

I have iPhone 4s now and had iPhone 4 and iPhone 3s they work the best with WPA2 AES and not more than 217mps(20mhz) they have a problem with 40mhz band (300 or 450 mhz)
Regular Contributor
Posts: 129
Registered: ‎2011-08-26

Re: Trouble wndr4500 wlan & iphone

Tell me how to check the connect speed on my iPhone 4S and I'll tell ya my connect speed.

I don't think they'll connect unless the SSID is broadcasting its name.

-- Chuck
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎2012-03-18

Re: Trouble wndr4500 wlan & iphone

Could you maybe check the speed on your 4s through this:
http://www.speedtest.net/
Guess that you are having 802g speed, that means 54 mbps.
Right ?

regards
snofte
Contributor
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎2011-09-25

Re: Trouble wndr4500 wlan & iphone

you said 1 4500 is OK and the other can't work.
does all config setting are the same, just 1 use wpa2 and 1 use wpa-tkip + wpa2-ase?
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Trouble wndr4500 wlan & iphone

snofte wrote:
Could you maybe check the speed on your 4s through this:
http://www.speedtest.net/
Guess that you are having 802g speed, that means 54 mbps.
Right ?

regards
snofte


Speedtest only test external. Believe op is asking to find the actual wireless connection speed #Mbps between the router and iPhone that negotiated
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
N/A
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2012-02-03

Re: Trouble wndr4500 wlan & iphone

Chuck_s wrote:


I don't think they'll connect unless the SSID is broadcasting its name.

-- Chuck


Not true - I've never had an exposed SSID on my 4500. All 4 iphones (3/3GS/4S + ipad) in the house connect fine. You just have to enter the SSID on the phone manually and the password. It should then remember the name and password and connect automatically whenever in range. I do have "join automatically" turned off on all, but that shouldn't matter......

Wherewolf
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Trouble wndr4500 wlan & iphone

correct.. hidden broadcast should not effect on wifi devices is normal.

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4199
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎2012-03-18

Re: Trouble wndr4500 wlan & iphone

billshih1975 wrote:
you said 1 4500 is OK and the other can't work.
does all config setting are the same, just 1 use wpa2 and 1 use wpa-tkip + wpa2-ase?


Yes all settings are the same on both netgears, except:
no 1: speed up to 450 mbps, wpa2-psk (aes)
no 2: speed up to 217 mbps, wpa-psk(tkip)+wpa2-psk(aes)

Have seen that iphone ONLY runs on 2.4 ghz. So when netgear
on router no 1 suns dualband 2,4 AND 5 ghz (20 and 40 mhz band),
then iphone gives up !!
Does this seem logical ?

regards
snofte
Contributor
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎2011-09-25

Re: Trouble wndr4500 wlan & iphone

perhaps you can save the 1st and 2nd 4500 config file, then load #1 config to 2nd router and #2 config to 1st router. Then you can know if it's HW issue??
Discussion Stats
  • 22 replies
  • 8926 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 8 in conversation
Top Contributors