Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎2010-03-16

Using WGR614 v7 router as repeater with DGN2000

Hi,
i am a novice in networking topics.
I have a DGN2000 router which is being used as acces point. I alos have WGR614V7 router which i never used.

1. Is it possible to use wgr614 V7 router with DGN2000 as repeater?
2. I read in some of the forums that only WGR614 version 8 onwards support repeating function. Is this correct?
If that is correct, can i update the firmware on my wgr614 v7 to make it V8?

Thanks in advance?
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Using WGR614 v7 router as repeater with DGN2000

WGR614V7 don't support WDS so answer is NO

will not work

V9 is needed at least
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎2010-03-16

Re: Using WGR614 v7 router as repeater with DGN2000

Hi June,
Thanks for ur reply.
So i assume that DGN2000 supports WDS which is required to use a repeater with. Am i right?
I would like to buy an wireless router to use as a repeater.
Can you please suggest some router which is going to be used as just repeater to work with DGN2000?

Thanks,
kotesh
Aspirant
Posts: 677
Registered: ‎2009-04-02

Re: Using WGR614 v7 router as repeater with DGN2000

Hi, I would suggest you to use WNR3700 or WNR3500.
kat



---------------------------------------------------



I'm wondering if I could help you.
Aspirant
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎2010-03-16

Re: Using WGR614 v7 router as repeater with DGN2000

Thanks. Is this the cheapest option?
I am looking for cheapest but reliable option as i am already wasted money with WGR614 v7 router.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Using WGR614 v7 router as repeater with DGN2000

kotesh wrote:
Hi June,
Thanks for ur reply.
So i assume that DGN2000 supports WDS which is required to use a repeater with. Am i right?
I would like to buy an wireless router to use as a repeater.
Can you please suggest some router which is going to be used as just repeater to work with DGN2000?

Thanks,
kotesh


depends on but WGR614 V9 will work and they more cheapest one you can by

or ANY N router will have supports WDS (WNR series. )
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎2010-03-16

Re: Using WGR614 v7 router as repeater with DGN2000

Thanks.
Is version 9 the latest version of WGR614. I dont want buy again a old version one.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Using WGR614 v7 router as repeater with DGN2000

if not I would not say it
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎2010-03-16

Re: Using WGR614 v7 router as repeater with DGN2000

Thanks for your help, i am going to buy one.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Using WGR614 v7 router as repeater with DGN2000

kotesh wrote:
Thanks for your help, i am going to buy one.


WGR614V9 or V10 do the job
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2013-06-01

Re: Using WGR614 v7 router as repeater with DGN2000

jmizoguchi wrote:
depends on but WGR614 V9 will work and they more cheapest one you can by

or ANY N router will have supports WDS (WNR series. )
Hi June, I saw your reply that a WGR614V9 would act as a repeater and that is exactly what I have and what I am trying to do. Can you direct me to the resources for setting up the WGR614V9 as a repeater? Thanks, Jim
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Using WGR614 v7 router as repeater with DGN2000

You will be limited to WEP/none so suggest to use extender like wn2500rp

Repeat/WDS will create hackable network
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2013-06-10

Re: Using WGR614 v7 router as repeater with DGN2000

I have WGR614 V9 router, and am using a D-Link DIR601 as my main router now. How would I go about setting up my WGR614 as a repeater? I have my cable modem and router in one room by themself, and I want my WGR614 router to be a repeater in another room. My desktop is accessing the D-Link router via a d-link USB wifi adapter now in a separate room.

I don't care where the repeater is so long as it's on the other end of my house to give me full signal anywhere in the house.

My netgear router I've had for a while and lost the setup CD. Can someone get me a step by step setup for doing this?

I already updated my firmware on the d-link router to dd-wrt.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: Using WGR614 v7 router as repeater with DGN2000

http://vpncasestudy.com/download/WDS/WDS_Concept.pdf
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Discussion Stats
  • 13 replies
  • 11167 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 5 in conversation
Top Contributors