Reply
Initial Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2011-10-11

WNDR3400 wont connect

Hello,
Have a WNDR3400 thats worked perfectly until last night. It was powered through a surge protector. When connected as normal i have the green power button blinking every second and the internet symbol in amber flashing very fast but no connection. I am running Windows 7 and am typing this with my modem ethernet plugged directly to the HP PC, so there is no issue with modem/internet provider. I just moved so do not have my Resource CD available. Other sites are saying the firmware is corrupted. Is the router screwed? Can i fix this? I have downloaded the newest firmware to the PC. Now i just need to get this installed in the router with a PC that only has one ethernet port. Any help and suggestions would be appreciated, if you need more info please dont hesitate to ask
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNDR3400 wont connect

reset the router and reset up the router again
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Initial Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2011-10-11

Re: WNDR3400 wont connect

I have reset numerous times. No change in status. Blinking green power, no 2.4/5.0 light. Tried hooking the ethernet from PC to router and cannot access control panel either. I dont know what to do.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNDR3400 wont connect

try bypass the surge strip and use directly to the outlet
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Initial Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2011-10-11

Re: WNDR3400 wont connect

Still nothing. Same lights, no signal with same configuration that has worked for months beforehand. Ethernet cable from modem to router
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNDR3400 wont connect

If this is still under warranty , contact support at my.Netgear.com
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,024
Registered: ‎2011-05-23

Re: WNDR3400 wont connect

euzkadiCO wrote:
I just moved...
...Other sites are saying the firmware is corrupted. Is the router screwed?
...I have downloaded the newest firmware to the PC.

If you interrupted the router while trying to update the firmware, then most likely it's corrupted. From the description of the behavior of the LED lights, it sounds so.

You can try the following procedure: http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=60726&page=3
It doesn't quote your model but the procedure is the same.

There is a Firmware Recovery Tool on the CD, however if it's not available or lost, you may have to locate it on Netgear's site. The instructions state not to use it without direct instructions from Netgear. Therefore, you may have to open a case with Netgear as June advised.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,024
Registered: ‎2011-05-23

Re: WNDR3400 wont connect

Another method you could try is TFTP as described here: http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=30453
Again, the router model described is not the same as yours but the procedure should be similar.
Discussion Stats
  • 7 replies
  • 3901 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 3 in conversation
Top Contributors