Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎2010-01-03

WNDR3700 Wireless connection issues

Hello there, I just got my long anticipated WNDR3700 and spent a night trying to get it to work and another few hours with support on the phone. While the router works perfecetly wired, it does not seem to work wirelessly or rather works partially.

Updated to latest FW too... Support basically told me to take the unit back to the store which is practically impossbile for me as I live in Canada and a friend got it for me at Fry's in San Jose...

The problem is that the unit fails to assign IP addresses to wireless devices. I can percetly see all the wireless devices on the network by their MAC addresses but no IP is assigned. I get a "limited connectivitryu or no connectivity at all and I get a phony IP address sometimes.

And yes, I have tried with or without wireless security, cxhanging anything that can be changed in the basic wireless settings. I didn't touch the advanced settings, nor I did assign custom IP's to specific MAC addresses. Also tried to assign an IP manually to a wireless client with no success in connecting with or without security keys.

I can see the broadcasted SSID's for both GHz and for 2.4GHz.

Any suggestions?
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNDR3700 Wireless connection issues

The problem is that the unit fails to assign IP addresses to wireless devices. I can percetly see all the wireless devices on the network by their MAC addresses but no IP is assigned. I get a "limited connectivitryu or no connectivity at all and I get a phony IP address sometimes.


if you do not use " address reservation" under LAN setup, it works fine?

you are assigning the IP within the DHCP range?

your explanation of "phony ip" is 169.x.x? it is not phony, it's call self assign IP and when device do not communicate properly with DHCP server, it will show 169.x.x.x
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎2010-01-03

Re: WNDR3700 Wireless connection issues

Thanks for replying so fast, you are correct, I get a 169.x.x.x address when I try connecting wireless,
It does not work at all whether I try address reservation or not when wireless (I get either one of those 169.x.x.x addresses or simply get an "unable to connect).
When wired, it works fine. In fact this is what I'm using now to write this reply.

When I tried assigning a manual IP it was within the DHCP range in indeed.

I have 4 wireless computers and a wireless camera a wireless printer plus two wired computers connected to it. The Dlink624 i am replacing works fine with all of them. However when I put on the WNDR3700 and look at the "attached devices " in the setup menu, I can see all MAC addresses corresponding to all those mentioned devices wired or not. The two wired computers get a (correct) IP. The printer, camera and the rest of the wireless computers do not get an IP but the MAC addressess listed are correct.
I also tried disabling all the firewall software I had although that worked fine with the old router.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNDR3700 Wireless connection issues

if you are saying that wether you simply router to release IP or use address reservation to push the IP, you can not connect any wifi device at all and get 169.x.x.

what is the wireless setting in the router you are using.

you have basic wireless connection issue before you can even try address reservations
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎2010-01-03

Re: WNDR3700 Wireless connection issues

Correct. I get only 169.x.x.x on all wireless devices. with or without address reservation, with or without wireless security encryption.

For the DLINK which I'm now back to using I use simple wirless connection with 128bit WEP encryption and DHCP. All devices work fine.

There must be something wrong with the FW on my new Netgear. Is there a way I can downgrade to an earlier version or what else should I do. Returning the unit is really not an option although that is what netgear support adviced me to do. Not sure If I can get to down to Fry's anytime soon as I live in Canada. This thing was not cheap and right now I look at it as a half bricked thing worth 200 bucks. Not a good start with netgear that is for sure...
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNDR3700 Wireless connection issues

WEP... hackable 100%

with new device use WPA or WPA2 only
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎2010-01-03

Re: WNDR3700 Wireless connection issues

jmizoguchi wrote:
WEP... hackable 100%

with new device use WPA or WPA2 only


I use wep because I was trying to make it work. I tried no security wahtsoever which is even more hackable and still didn't work. I doubt it will will work with any other security setting.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNDR3700 Wireless connection issues

are you using 2.4Ghz / 54MBps or 300Mbps

what is the wireless adapter model that is trying to connect
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎2010-01-03

Re: WNDR3700 Wireless connection issues

Hey, you know what, your reply actually helped. As soon as I used higher encription, I was able to connnect most of my computers! Thabnks a lot for the tip as this saved me the cost of the router basically!!!. With that here is a list of issues that I've ran into with the V1.0.4.49NA firmware:

1. No device will connect wirelessly if no encription is set (dooh)
2. No device will connect when WEP is set and ASCII phrase is used. Only HEX accepts
3. The speed rate for 2.5GHz wirelss must be set down to 54Mbps in order for the SSID to be seen by certain wireless devices such as the AXis 207W camera.
4. Was able to connect most of my computers wirelssly but still working to get the Axis 207 camera connected.

At the beginning I could only see the guest network when enabled with the camera. I could see the camera MAC address but no connection was made. Then I had to downgrade the speed rate on the 2.5GhZ from 130Mbps to 54Mbps to at least see the both the guest and 2.4GHz SSIDs in the list. At this point the camera was getting a 169.x.x.x IP address but only when used the WPA2-PSK encription otherwise no IP was pulled. At this point I am stuck. that is the last device I have to connect. The camera works fine with old router and also works fine when is wired. Any suggestions?

I am thinking to use the old router, connect the camera wirelssly to it and then somehow use the Netgear as a repeater for it. Isd that even a possibility?I have both 5Ghz and 2.4Ghz enabled but really not using the 5GHz portion. the 2.4Ghz is toned down to 54Mbps.

thanks again a lot for your help jmizoguchi!
Aspirant
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎2010-01-03

Re: WNDR3700 Wireless connection issues

Is there a way I can provide feedback to Netgear? Last time I talked to support they said they would deny my warranty because it is an US product and I am in Canada...
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNDR3700 Wireless connection issues

Your welcome.. glad to assist Smiley Happy
You can send your success story to netgear using my.netgear.com
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎2010-01-03

Re: WNDR3700 Wireless connection issues

Thanks for the link. As for the success story, I don't know. I still cannot make some of the older B and G devices to work in my home because of the bugs I just mentioned. Not to mention the bug with the USB hard drive connection. Hope they have that fixed soon.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNDR3700 Wireless connection issues

petren wrote:
Thanks for the link. As for the success story, I don't know. I still cannot make some of the older B and G devices to work in my home because of the bugs I just mentioned. Not to mention the bug with the USB hard drive connection. Hope they have that fixed soon.
that is all about wireless try to talk with all of them. convenience brings such hassle doesn't it.. Smiley Happy
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎2010-01-03

Re: WNDR3700 Wireless connection issues

Yup, I agree, though I was OK with my old router. Any other ideas I should try to get my Wireless Axis 207W camera working? Since I got the others working by switching to hex passpharse, I'm thinking to do the same with higher encryption methods but unfortunateley I need a hex to ASCII converter. Netgear does not have that for WPA/WPA2-PSK but only for WEP.
Heard someone talking about noisy channels which are those? Maybe I can do something about that.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNDR3700 Wireless connection issues

axis only uses hex on WPA , WPA2?
quick google
http://www.dolcevie.com/js/converter.html
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Tutor
Posts: 366
Registered: ‎2009-10-22

Re: WNDR3700 Wireless connection issues

Can you put that on a guest network and use wep for that device on the guest network ?
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNDR3700 Wireless connection issues

jerry66 wrote:
Can you put that on a guest network and use wep for that device on the guest network ?


that will put on access the webcam from the main LAN..

guest will be on VLAN that isolate so sort defeats the purpose Smiley Happy
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Tutor
Posts: 366
Registered: ‎2009-10-22

Re: WNDR3700 Wireless connection issues

Right , forgot about that .
Aspirant
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎2010-01-03

Re: WNDR3700 Wireless connection issues

Axis camera 207W uses(choose fromSmiley Happy
- no encryption
- WEP with both ASCII or HEX
- WPA/WPA2-PSK with both hex or ASCII

I tried to enter a simple 64 hex string as a key to test on both negear and the camera side with both WPA and WPA2 without success. WEP hex tried already no success. If I have no encryption set on NEtgear it will prevent all wireless devices from connecting. I thought that should be a basic feature for every router so it can be used for begginers but not in this case I guess...

I also tried enabling the guest network and connected via that with both WEP and WPA/WPA2 without success(using Axis camera. The best I could get was a Windows self assigned 169.x.x.x IP and that only if I set the 2.5G band speed doen to 54Mbps from default 130 also the SSID was not visible until this change was made.

And like I said... my camera works like a charm with my old DI624 with all encryptions HEX or ASCII.

To me looks like a Netgear FW or setup problem unless I am missing something basic which I don't deny I might but I even got one of those Cisco certified guys looking at it and he told me he thinsk it is a FW bug (mind you, he said it has quite a few basic bugs as reported earlier). I reported it via the my.negear.com too. Also as a workaoround I wonder if I can connect my old router -just to be able to use the camera -to the netgear and use it as a repeater and also boost the signal strength around the house.

Anyone done that yet? I see there is a function in the setup that sounds like that might be possible.

As for the conversion, funny thing is that I just tried for fun to convert using the converter inside the netgear and then the one inside the DLink for WEP and guess what: totally different HEX string coming out for the same ASCII passphrase. I wonder if that is not the actually real problem with the passwords problems people are having and perhaps the root cause of the connection problems I have.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNDR3700 Wireless connection issues

As for the conversion, funny thing is that I just tried for fun to convert using the converter inside the netgear and then the one inside the DLink for WEP and guess what: totally different HEX string coming out for the same ASCII passphrase. I wonder if that is not the actually real problem with the passwords problems people are having and perhaps the root cause of the connection problems I have.


I have use WEP hex generated by netgear home end router and never seems to fail to connect. as long you use what is generated in the router for WEP, I should work.

WPA, WPA2 on netgear will be ASCII and not hex
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎2010-01-03

Re: WNDR3700 Wireless connection issues

Folks, got the Axis Wireless Camera to connect wireless finally: I had to turn the RIP version on and set it to RIP_1 in LAN setup applet

Hope that will help others as well
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNDR3700 Wireless connection issues

petren wrote:
Folks, got the Axis Wireless Camera to connect wireless finally: I had to turn the RIP version on and set it to RIP_1 in LAN setup applet

Hope that will help others as well


interesting. device need routing tables huh..mmmSmiley Happy
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎2010-01-03

Re: WNDR3700 Wireless connection issues

Originally Posted by petren
Folks, got the Axis Wireless Camera to connect wireless finally: I had to turn the RIP version on and set it to RIP_1 in LAN setup applet

Maybe I shoud take this back. yestrday whenI tried connecting to my camera, I noticed it has lost its IP again. Then, playing more with the router I disabled RIP and rebooted. The camera still didn't get an IP. this morning when I looked in the attached devices I noticed the camera had anIP again and when I accessed it worked flawlessly. It looks like the router has a mind of its own and decides with 1-day delay that hmmm, maybe I should let this acmera connect.

In any case, when it does not connect it posts an entry in the logs of this sort:

[WLAN access rejected: incorrect security] from MAC address 00:16:6f:3a:03:30, Sunday, January 10,2010 11:41:02
[remote login] from source 99.224.153.93, Sunday, January 10,2010 11:31:18
[DHCP IP: 192.168.1.111] to MAC address 00:40:8c:7a:47:1e, Sunday, January 10,2010 10:06:44

As you can see, first it denies it, then it lets it connect and assigns IP. No change in settings in between.


I am just at loss with this thing...
Aspirant
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎2010-01-03

Re: WNDR3700 Wireless connection issues

Correction of the actual logs excerpt:

Sunday, January 10,2010 06:46:56
[WLAN access rejected: incorrect security] from MAC address 00:40:8c:7a:47:1e, Sunday, January 10,2010 06:46:40
[DHCP IP: 192.168.1.111] to MAC address 00:40:8c:7a:47:1e,

I see that actually with pretty much all my computers hooked up wirelessly to this router.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNDR3700 Wireless connection issues

petren wrote:


[WLAN access rejected: incorrect security] from MAC address 00:16:6f:3a:03:30, Sunday, January 10,2010 11:41:02
[remote login] from source 99.224.153.93, Sunday, January 10,2010 11:31:18
[DHCP IP: 192.168.1.111] to MAC address 00:40:8c:7a:47:1e, Sunday, January 10,2010 10:06:44

.


not sure why incorrect security but could be earlier discussion hex and ascii where two shows different encryption when converted? although it is allowing.

you are not using mac filtering are you?
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Discussion Stats
Top Contributors