Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2011-10-20

WNDR3800 doesn't ask for password at login??!?

Just got my 3800 set up and running. I changed the default SID, etc., and password to the router administration. But when I log out, then return to the main page, I'm logged in, and can still see everything (including my wireless password and logs)!!!!

After setting it and logging out a number of times, I convinced myself it's really and truly not checking the password for login as follows:


    I'm running the newest firmware, 1.0.0.24... is this a problem with this version of the firmware? Need this fixed ASAP!!
Virtuoso
Posts: 12,951
Registered: ‎2015-07-05

Re: WNDR3800 doesn't ask for password at login??!?

The login details are retained for the current browser session and will be lost if the browser itself is closed or the PC shutdown, this is common for many networking devices not just Netgear devices. Higher end equipment intended for a multi-admin environment such as an office may use https: but for home use the session login is unlikely to be an issue since only one user can login at a time.
Aspirant
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎2011-09-28

Re: WNDR3800 doesn't ask for password at login??!?

I also just updated to the latest firmware (1.0.0.24) and it won't logout. Tried a browser restart, flush cache, reboot. No joy. It is broken

Also broken is the UPnP. There is no more Internet Gateway in my network connections
Aspirant
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎2011-09-28

Re: WNDR3800 doesn't ask for password at login??!?

zipperx wrote:
Also broken is the UPnP. There is no more Internet Gateway in my network connections


Ahhh the gateway came back. Some kind of delay
Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2011-10-20

Re: WNDR3800 doesn't ask for password at login??!?

Mars Mug wrote:
The login details are retained for the current browser session and will be lost if the browser itself is closed or the PC shutdown, this is common for many networking devices not just Netgear devices. Higher end equipment intended for a multi-admin environment such as an office may use https: but for home use the session login is unlikely to be an issue since only one user can login at a time.


But what I'm saying is, if I log out in Firefox, and use Internet Explorer to change the password, Firefox is still not prompted for the password when I return to the administration page. Once the password is changed, the cached login details should be invalid. Once I log out, the cached login should be invalid. Once the browser is closed, the cached login should be invalid.

I just hit the admin page again; haven't visited it in two days. I can see everything, not prompted for a password. If some kind of token is persisting that the router accepts because I logged in once who-knows-how-long-ago, then Netgear has a fix to release. Because that is NOT any kind of standard security practice, and it's not acceptable.

It concerns me that a company who makes routers has a problem with standard security practices... It casts doubt as to what else they are screwing up.
Virtuoso
Posts: 12,951
Registered: ‎2015-07-05

Re: WNDR3800 doesn't ask for password at login??!?

If what zipperx said in Post #3 is correct, and I have no reason to disbelieve what was said, then your router is operating differently to all other Netgear home grade routers I have used (that’s a lot) and I would say that the symptoms you describe are a fault, it should not be doing what you and zipperx describe.
Apprentice
Posts: 2,024
Registered: ‎2011-05-23

Re: WNDR3800 doesn't ask for password at login??!?

Check to see if you have your browser(s) configured to save your password(s).

In IE9:

- Click on (the gear icon in top right corner) Tools>Delete Browsing History...

- Scroll down to Passwords and ensure that box is unchecked.

I haven't been using FF, but you should find a similar option if you look around.
Apprentice
Posts: 2,024
Registered: ‎2011-05-23

Re: WNDR3800 doesn't ask for password at login??!?

Sorry, that should be "make sure the box is checked". Next, delete your browsing history.

You could also configure IE9 to Empty Temporary Internet Files Folder When Browser is Closed. You'll find that option under Tools>Internet Options>Advanced.

Alternatively, you could use In Private browsing mode which will automatically delete your browsing session upon exit. Go to Tools>Safety>InPrivate Browsing.

(Other thoughts: Wish I had the option to edit my posts. Smiley Sad)
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2011-10-24

Re: WNDR3800 doesn't ask for password at login??!?

Hello,

My device is weeks new. I'm having the exact same issues.

I can confirm that this has nothing to do with browsers saving passwords. This same issue occurs on a brand new fresh install PC.

All in all, the *18 firmware step-up to *24 has been an absolute disaster in terms of security vulnerabilities. No connection, outside or in requires authentication on the router. This is scary!

Above that, 'Block Services' and 'uPnP' doesn't do what it's told and many of my ports are being left open.

I have never heard or experienced such issues with Netgear devices in the past, ever!

I would check with the developers on who had a hand in programming the latest firmware. To me, it seems a bit suspicious.

PLEASE GIVE FULL ATTENTION TO THIS ISSUE

Looking forward to a resolution ASAP.

Thank you.
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2011-10-24

Re: WNDR3800 doesn't ask for password at login??!?

In the meantime, I suggest everyone to revert back to firmware 1.0.0.18
( http://support.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19461/~/wndr3800-firmware-version-1.0.0.18 )

Unless the updates found here for 1.0.0.24 is more essential to you
http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=70839
Apprentice
Posts: 2,024
Registered: ‎2011-05-23

Re: WNDR3800 doesn't ask for password at login??!?

Jegan wrote:
PLEASE GIVE FULL ATTENTION TO THIS ISSUE

Looking forward to a resolution ASAP.

Hello,

You seem to addressing Netgear. This is a user-to-user forum. Users here share info with each other. If you really wish to officially report this matter you should open a case with Netgear.
Aspirant
Posts: 262
Registered: ‎2011-09-22

Re: WNDR3800 doesn't ask for password at login??!?

Joe is correct. This forum is not the place to report or inquire about problems to Netgear Support.

In order to communicate directly with Netgear Support go to my.netgear.com. You can post your inquiry as a registered or non-registered costumer.
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2011-12-07

Re: WNDR3800 doesn't ask for password at login??!?

I just got the router and immediately had firmware upgraded to V1.0.0.24 based on wizard recommendation. After upgrade, I got same behavior. I can access the home page without password prompt from any device!
Aspirant
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎2011-10-07

Re: WNDR3800 doesn't ask for password at login??!?

Have you tried to reset router to factory defaults after firmware update?
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2011-12-07

Re: WNDR3800 doesn't ask for password at login??!?

Update: Got with tech support and reset the router. That worked out well, although I have to redo all the settings again. Better redoing it than exposing all credentials :-)
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2011-12-07

Re: WNDR3800 doesn't ask for password at login??!?

Yes, that works out.
Aspirant
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎2011-10-07

Re: WNDR3800 doesn't ask for password at login??!?

tm69 wrote:
Update: Got with tech support and reset the router. That worked out well, although I have to redo all the settings again. Better redoing it than exposing all credentials :-)

I would recommend doing so after every firmware upgrade despite of the ability to backup and restore settings. This applies not only to this router (and other Netgear products), but to all devices in general with flashable firmware.
voo Novice
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2012-02-05

Re: WNDR3800 doesn't ask for password at login??!?

I am also experiencing this problem after doing the latest update of firmware on my NETGEAR WNR2000V3 router. I actually had enabled remote login to my router (with a very secure password, obviously) to allow me to control my kids access while away from home via my cellphone but noticed that when I logged out when i entered the ip address to access the router from my cellphone browser it would no longer even ask for my password! Because of the danger of losing a cellphone I quickly disabled remote ability to login to my router. Thanks for the link to go back to the previous version of the firmware. I intend to immediately do this! This isn't a security loophole, this is a hole big enough to drive a semi tractor-trailer thru!
voo Novice
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2012-02-05

Re: WNDR3800 doesn't ask for password at login??!?

The firmware that I had updated to is V1.1.1.58
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2012-01-20

Re: WNDR3800 doesn't ask for password at login??!?

Why isn't there a "https" option under Remote Management? My previous routers allowed this.
Aspirant
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎2012-01-29

Re: WNDR3800 doesn't ask for password at login??!?

I do not have that issue even when I was running 1.0.0.24 (now running 1.0.0.25 BETA). Try upgrading to the beta version as it fixed my 2.4Ghz wifi disconnects.
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2012-03-09

Re: WNDR3800 doesn't ask for password at login??!?

I found a solution for this problem. It is actually a glitch during the router setup. If you choose to configure manually, and not using the wizard, then somehow the setup process would not be concluded, and the admin password would not come into effect. Therefore, it would not present the log-in prompt when you return to the setup. It thinks that you are still not finished the setup process.

I fixed it by connecting the router to the Internet, going to the router setup, clicking [Advanced Tab], and running the [Setup Wizard]. It did not changed the manual setup I configured, but immediately after, it presented me with the setup login, and the password I setup earlier became effective.

BTW, I am using [Firmware Version V1.0.0.25-Beta].

Hope this helps! Smiley Happy
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2011-09-13

Re: WNDR3800 doesn't ask for password at login??!?

FMatos wrote:
I found a solution for this problem. It is actually a glitch during the router setup. If you choose to configure manually, and not using the wizard, then somehow the setup process would not be concluded, and the admin password would not come into effect. Therefore, it would not present the log-in prompt when you return to the setup. It thinks that you are still not finished the setup process.

I fixed it by connecting the router to the Internet, going to the router setup, clicking [Advanced Tab], and running the [Setup Wizard]. It did not changed the manual setup I configured, but immediately after, it presented me with the setup login, and the password I setup earlier became effective.

BTW, I am using [Firmware Version V1.0.0.25-Beta].

Hope this helps! Smiley Happy


There is another quick solution. Please go to "Basic" > "Internet" page, there is a "Test" button". Click this button. If the Success page of NTGR web site can be showed, then this issue is fixed too.
Aspirant
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎2012-03-22

Re: WNDR3800 doesn't ask for password at login??!?

This didn't work for me.. got the NG homepage, but still wide open. Only solution is disable remote management...:mad:
I also started to go throught the setup wizard, but it always tried to configure pptp instead of ppoe. Since the account/password aren't those of my ppoe, I can't get further than this.
I upgraded to .25-beta and no difference.

Any other ideas?
Apprentice
Posts: 1,134
Registered: ‎2011-11-12

Re: WNDR3800 doesn't ask for password at login??!?

After you upgraded the firmware did you perform a hard reset on the router?
Discussion Stats
Top Contributors