Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2009-08-02

WNR 3500 v1 or v2

I just purchased a WNR3500v1. The website shows there is also a v2 and a search finds that the v2 came out earlier this year.

Is the difference between the v1 and v2 significant enough that I need to consider returning the v1 and finding a v2?

My needs are quite basic, a wireless laptop and wireless printer.

Thanks in advance for your input.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNR 3500 v1 or v2

you should search through the thread on V1 and V2.

v# means different chipset and hardware. also look firmware fixes and reads notes. you might find different listing
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2009-08-02

Re: WNR 3500 v1 or v2

Thanks for your prompt response. With all due respect, I don't understand your answer.

I realize v1 and v2 mean different chipset and hardware. My question is, what is the difference?

I've already searched for "v1" and "v2" and different combinations of those with WNR3500. I've also searched for "firmware fixes." I don't understand what you mean by "reads notes" or "different listings."

I would still like to know the difference between the two routers, WN3500v1 and WNR3500v2.

Thank you.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNR 3500 v1 or v2

Popoff wrote:
Thanks for your prompt response. With all due respect, I don't understand your answer.

I realize v1 and v2 mean different chipset and hardware. My question is, what is the difference?

I've already searched for "v1" and "v2" and different combinations of those with WNR3500. I've also searched for "firmware fixes." I don't understand what you mean by "reads notes" or "different listings."

I would still like to know the difference between the two routers, WN3500v1 and WNR3500v2.

Thank you.

other difference is the feature that comes with V1 and V2.

if you look firmware fixes you will find what has fixed or added to either one. core of firmware may still the same and basic function yet because of changes in hardware, some feature may not available on v1

http://interface.netgear-forum.com/WNR3500/


you do NOT search for firmware fixes in the forum.. you go to product support page!
go to download tab at top of the page and look at it.
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2009-08-02

Re: WNR 3500 v1 or v2

Thank you again.

I have followed your suggestion and am still at a loss. All I want to know is what is the difference between v1 and v2. Is Staples selling me obsolete merchandise at the new merchandise price? :confused:

At this point, I think my only resource is to return the device and purchase a current version router from another manufacturer.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNR 3500 v1 or v2

Popoff wrote:
Thank you again.

I have followed your suggestion and am still at a loss. All I want to know is what is the difference between v1 and v2. Is Staples selling me obsolete merchandise at the new merchandise price? :confused:

At this point, I think my only resource is to return the device and purchase a current version router from another manufacturer.


you will not find significant difference between other than possible chipset change or even simply memory is more on V2

call presales at netgear
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Initial Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2009-10-13

Re: WNR 3500 v1 or v2

One difference between v1 and v2 is that Live Parental Controls are only supported in v2. It is quite frustrating that the Netgear website says that the 3500 support LPC, but after I get one from Staples I find out that they sent me a v1 and LPC is only supported by v2.

I am off to Staples tomorrow to see if I can find a v2 on the shelf. If not, I'll return it.
Initial Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2009-10-13

Re: WNR 3500 v1 or v2

Success! I took my v1 3500 to the local Staples store and exchanged it for a v2 3500.
Initial Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2010-01-26

Re: WNR 3500 v1 or v2

I just received a refurbished WNR3500 router.

How can I tell if it is v1 or v2?

Thanks in advance!
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNR 3500 v1 or v2

johntrilik wrote:
I just received a refurbished WNR3500 router.

How can I tell if it is v1 or v2?

Thanks in advance!


said man times.

see bottom of the

V1.. WNR3500 (nothing after the model number)
V2. WNR3500V2
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Discussion Stats
  • 12 replies
  • 9946 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 6 in conversation
Top Contributors