Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2009-08-02

WNR 3500 v1 or v2

I just purchased a WNR3500v1. The website shows there is also a v2 and a search finds that the v2 came out earlier this year.

Is the difference between the v1 and v2 significant enough that I need to consider returning the v1 and finding a v2?

My needs are quite basic, a wireless laptop and wireless printer.

Thanks in advance for your input.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNR 3500 v1 or v2

you should search through the thread on V1 and V2.

v# means different chipset and hardware. also look firmware fixes and reads notes. you might find different listing
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2009-08-02

Re: WNR 3500 v1 or v2

Thanks for your prompt response. With all due respect, I don't understand your answer.

I realize v1 and v2 mean different chipset and hardware. My question is, what is the difference?

I've already searched for "v1" and "v2" and different combinations of those with WNR3500. I've also searched for "firmware fixes." I don't understand what you mean by "reads notes" or "different listings."

I would still like to know the difference between the two routers, WN3500v1 and WNR3500v2.

Thank you.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNR 3500 v1 or v2

Popoff wrote:
Thanks for your prompt response. With all due respect, I don't understand your answer.

I realize v1 and v2 mean different chipset and hardware. My question is, what is the difference?

I've already searched for "v1" and "v2" and different combinations of those with WNR3500. I've also searched for "firmware fixes." I don't understand what you mean by "reads notes" or "different listings."

I would still like to know the difference between the two routers, WN3500v1 and WNR3500v2.

Thank you.

other difference is the feature that comes with V1 and V2.

if you look firmware fixes you will find what has fixed or added to either one. core of firmware may still the same and basic function yet because of changes in hardware, some feature may not available on v1

http://interface.netgear-forum.com/WNR3500/


you do NOT search for firmware fixes in the forum.. you go to product support page!
go to download tab at top of the page and look at it.
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2009-08-02

Re: WNR 3500 v1 or v2

Thank you again.

I have followed your suggestion and am still at a loss. All I want to know is what is the difference between v1 and v2. Is Staples selling me obsolete merchandise at the new merchandise price? :confused:

At this point, I think my only resource is to return the device and purchase a current version router from another manufacturer.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNR 3500 v1 or v2

Popoff wrote:
Thank you again.

I have followed your suggestion and am still at a loss. All I want to know is what is the difference between v1 and v2. Is Staples selling me obsolete merchandise at the new merchandise price? :confused:

At this point, I think my only resource is to return the device and purchase a current version router from another manufacturer.


you will not find significant difference between other than possible chipset change or even simply memory is more on V2

call presales at netgear
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2009-10-13

Re: WNR 3500 v1 or v2

One difference between v1 and v2 is that Live Parental Controls are only supported in v2. It is quite frustrating that the Netgear website says that the 3500 support LPC, but after I get one from Staples I find out that they sent me a v1 and LPC is only supported by v2.

I am off to Staples tomorrow to see if I can find a v2 on the shelf. If not, I'll return it.
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2009-10-13

Re: WNR 3500 v1 or v2

Success! I took my v1 3500 to the local Staples store and exchanged it for a v2 3500.
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2010-01-26

Re: WNR 3500 v1 or v2

I just received a refurbished WNR3500 router.

How can I tell if it is v1 or v2?

Thanks in advance!
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNR 3500 v1 or v2

johntrilik wrote:
I just received a refurbished WNR3500 router.

How can I tell if it is v1 or v2?

Thanks in advance!


said man times.

see bottom of the

V1.. WNR3500 (nothing after the model number)
V2. WNR3500V2
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2011-09-29

Re: WNR 3500 v1 or v2

http://support.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/51/~/wnr3500-product-faqs


WNR3500 v1 vs v2

Version 1 is larger which gives it more room for the 5 extra antennas compared to v2.

I would expect v1 to be of better transmission quality due to the extra 5 antennas ... it is possilbe Netgear found a way to make the 3 antennas work just as well as v1 with 8 antennas .. but many companies in this economy are finding ways to make a product cheaper by cutting out unnecessary parts ...

i assume there were 4 transmit antennas & 4 receive antennas on v1.
and
2 transmit & 1 receive antennas on v2


i spoke to a tech support rep at Netgear and they said v1 had many problems when accessing the setup page using certain web browsers etc.

and in v2 this was fixed.

but if you have the firmware upgrades on both then it is fixed on both.

i have both v1 & v2 and i found v1 to be a bit faster ... maybe this is due to having more antennas...


i tested v2 again today and it is almost equally as fast ...

so i am really not sure ...

they said there was a different chipset in v2

i would think ... v1 has more antennas so it should work better

but it is hard to say
Product FAQs
What is Push-N-Connect?

Push-N-Connect is a feature which makes it very simple to connect wireless devices (notebooks, desktops, etc.) to a secure wireless network without needing to remember security pass phrases, or security method (WEP, WPA-PSK, WPA2). The user only needs to select the wireless network that they want to connect to, and then press the Push-N-Connect button on the router. Push-N-Connect does the rest. Push-N-Connect must be supported on the router and each wireless device in order to take advantage of this feature. Push-N-Connect is based on the WiFi Protected Setup (WPS) standard.

How many antennas are present in WNR3500?

WNR3500v1 uses 8 internal smart antennas and WNR3500v2 uses 3 internal smart antennas to provide a better networking experience for customers. With internal antennas, the router can combine the signals from multiple antennas to deliver a stronger signal, eliminating the need to adjust and possibly damaging an external antenna. The result is an attractive, durable, high performance wireless router.

What is Quality of Service? Does WNR3500 have it?

Quality of Service (QoS) prioritizes the traffic based on different applications such as VOIP, Video and Gaming. It automatically assigns the right priority to the top applications customers use. In addition, customers can prioritize traffic by MAC address, LAN Port, or UDP port. QoS is built into NETGEAR’s WNR3500.

How do I turn off the flashing blue lights?

The WNR3500v1 (not WNR3500v2) has blue lights on the top of the router which illustrate the activity of the internal antennas. The lights are not required however, and customers can choose to turn them off simply by pushing the light on/off button on the back of the router.
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2011-09-29

Re: WNR 3500 v1 ( 8 antennas ) vs v2 ( 3 antennas )

http://support.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/51/~/wnr3500-product-faqs


WNR3500 v1 vs v2

Version 1 is larger which gives it more room for the 5 extra antennas compared to v2.

I would expect v1 to be of better transmission quality due to the extra 5 antennas ... it is possilbe Netgear found a way to make the 3 antennas work just as well as v1 with 8 antennas .. but many companies in this economy are finding ways to make a product cheaper by cutting out unnecessary parts ...

i assume there were 4 transmit antennas & 4 receive antennas on v1.
and
2 transmit & 1 receive antennas on v2


i spoke to a tech support rep at Netgear and they said v1 had many problems when accessing the setup page using certain web browsers etc.

and in v2 this was fixed.

but if you have the firmware upgrades on both then it is fixed on both.

i have both v1 & v2 and i found v1 to be a bit faster ... maybe this is due to having more antennas...


i tested v2 again today and it is almost equally as fast ...

so i am really not sure ...

they said there was a different chipset in v2

i would think ... v1 has more antennas so it should work better

but it is hard to say
Product FAQs
What is Push-N-Connect?

Push-N-Connect is a feature which makes it very simple to connect wireless devices (notebooks, desktops, etc.) to a secure wireless network without needing to remember security pass phrases, or security method (WEP, WPA-PSK, WPA2). The user only needs to select the wireless network that they want to connect to, and then press the Push-N-Connect button on the router. Push-N-Connect does the rest. Push-N-Connect must be supported on the router and each wireless device in order to take advantage of this feature. Push-N-Connect is based on the WiFi Protected Setup (WPS) standard.

How many antennas are present in WNR3500?

WNR3500v1 uses 8 internal smart antennas and WNR3500v2 uses 3 internal smart antennas to provide a better networking experience for customers. With internal antennas, the router can combine the signals from multiple antennas to deliver a stronger signal, eliminating the need to adjust and possibly damaging an external antenna. The result is an attractive, durable, high performance wireless router.

What is Quality of Service? Does WNR3500 have it?

Quality of Service (QoS) prioritizes the traffic based on different applications such as VOIP, Video and Gaming. It automatically assigns the right priority to the top applications customers use. In addition, customers can prioritize traffic by MAC address, LAN Port, or UDP port. QoS is built into NETGEAR’s WNR3500.

How do I turn off the flashing blue lights?

The WNR3500v1 (not WNR3500v2) has blue lights on the top of the router which illustrate the activity of the internal antennas. The lights are not required however, and customers can choose to turn them off simply by pushing the light on/off button on the back of the router.
Aspirant
Posts: 469
Registered: ‎2011-06-03

Re: WNR 3500 v1 or v2

jmizoguchi wrote:
you will not find significant difference between other than possible chipset change or even simply memory is more on V2

call presales at netgear


At least with the dgnd 3300 it was a differnce of adsl and adsl2 modem and it looks like auto 2.4g N support(which the v1 does not have).
Discussion Stats
  • 12 replies
  • 10544 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 6 in conversation
Top Contributors