Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎2012-09-07

WNR2000 Stops Broadcasting

I have a WNR2000 wireless router which, since I added a Win-7 64 bit laptop to my network over the weekend, has began to display a behavior of periodically dropping the broadcast of its wireless signal.

A simple turn off/turn back on of the wireless power button on the router solves the problem, only to have it return again in a few hours. When this occurs the indicator lights on the router all show that the route has power and is broadcasting, but the SSID is not picked up by any of my devices that were previously connected and they now have no internet connection.

The wired connections continue to function without issue throughout the wireless issues.

I worked with Netgear support, adjusted settings, updated firmware, changed broadcast channel, etc.only to continue to experience the issue.

Netgear issued an RMA, believing that the router was faulty. The replacement device arrived yesterday, was set up, and again stopped broadcasting overnight.

At this point I believe the issue has to be related to the Windows 7 64 bit machine now connecting to the network. I have searched extensively over the past week looking for an issue and have found nothing other than troubleshooting steps I have already taken and which have failed.

Has anyone seen this issue and successfully resolved the root cause?

Thank you.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNR2000 Stops Broadcasting

http://www.metageek.net/products/inssider/
check your surrounding and make sure it is not channel interference issues.
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎2012-09-07

Re: WNR2000 Stops Broadcasting

Thanks for the response.

Channel conflict is not the root cause here. I have scanned and identified an uncrowded channel which I am currently utilizing, still experiencing the same issue. Have tested on multiple channels, same issue persists regardless of channel assignment.

Again, the new variable in the equation here is that a Win-7 64bit laptop has been added to the network via a wireless connection. Since the day the laptop was brought into the house the issue has existed. I had the laptop out of the house all day yesterday and the wireless broadcast never cut out.

I am convinced the issue is in some way tied to the new machine on the network, just cannot find the right settings to adjust in order to resolve the problem.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNR2000 Stops Broadcasting

Is there other wireless device that do not have issues
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎2012-09-07

Re: WNR2000 Stops Broadcasting

Yes, there are three iPhones, and and iPad which have been connecting for months without an issue. I have also had guests connect in the past without an issue.

The laptop in question connects to the network just fine, but after a period of time with the new laptop connected to the network (seems to vary from a few hours to a half day) the router will completely stop broadcasting a wireless signal. No SSID for my network is picked up, while other local wireless networks (neighbors) are still visible and the wireless devices that were connected no longer have a connection. However, when this occurs the two wired computers do continue to have a connection to the internet.

Thank you again for your replies.
Highlighted
Aspirant
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎2012-09-07

Re: WNR2000 Stops Broadcasting

I should also add that, while this now goes beyond my technical knowledge, looking at router logs it seems to appear that this issue is occurring when the router reassigns an IP to the laptop in question. I would be willing to post a router log if that would be helpful.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNR2000 Stops Broadcasting

Try static ip on laptop outside the DHCP range of router
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎2012-09-07

Re: WNR2000 Stops Broadcasting

Thanks, will try the static IP assignment for the laptop tonight and report back.

Also, to add to the confusion - borrowed a different model of Netgear router last night and did not encounter the issue. The borrowed router is not assigning static IPs, but is using different security protocol and is only a b/g router unlike my n300.

So many variables...
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNR2000 Stops Broadcasting

also update the driver/app for the wifi adapter from manufacture site.. ex Intel
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2012-09-10

Re: WNR2000 Stops Broadcasting

I am in the same boat. Wnr2000v3, Windows 7 64bit machine, using a free channel, wireless ssid randomly disappearing, resolved by unplugging router. Happens on average 1/16 hours. Static IP address will not work for me, as I need to be able to pick up the laptop and go to multiple networks w/out having to change ip settings every time. Any help would be most appreciated.

Thanks!
Aspirant
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎2012-09-07

Re: WNR2000 Stops Broadcasting

I have finally managed to resolve this issue. My resolution was based on trial and error with router settings, the final solution coming from an attempt to replicate the settings on another model of Netgear router which I set up to test with and found that my issue no longer replicated itself while using the alternate router. So, this is what worked for me, give it a chance, hopefully it resolves your issue as well. Note that I don't consider this to be an ideal solution, but it is a solution.

In the router's admin console --> wireless settings
Security Options: I changed my settings from WPA2-PSK [AES] to WPA-PSK [TKIP]

This then defaulted the Mode setting to "Up to 54 Mbps" which cannot be changed, as it is the only option available with the selected security setting.

Again, this came from observing that another router using these settings was not dropping the SSID broadcast and ever since applying these settings to my router I have not again experienced the issue.

I hope that this helps some of you who are experiencing the same issue. I have no idea why Win-7 doesn't play well with WPA2, but it seems to be the cause in this case. Hopefully a better solution comes along at some point, but for now at least I am not forced to reset my router several times a day.
Aspirant
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎2012-09-07

Re: WNR2000 Stops Broadcasting

Also should add that I have NOT assigned a static IP to the Win-7 laptop (or any of my devices for that matter). All dynamic assignments and the issue is no longer persisting based upon the above setting changes.
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2009-10-04

Re: WNR2000 Stops Broadcasting

I was glad to find this thread since I'm having the same problem. For the moment, I have just changed the wireless mode to "up to 54" and we'll see if that works. In addition to the modem ceasing to broadcast it's SSID, I am unable to change the default SSID, default password, or the default wireless security. If I do, I am unable to connect with the notebook. My WNR2000 has an assigned network ip with DHCP off and the ip I assigned is outside of the DHCP range of the primary router.
Aspirant
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎2012-10-03

Re: WNR2000 Stops Broadcasting

I am also having this problem with the WNR2000v3. I have had it happen with two different routers as I exchanged the first.

This is unacceptable. Why should I have to revert to wireless G to get this thing to work right?

There is obviously a problem with this router. I will be returning it unless someone from Netgear wants to address this issue.
Discussion Stats
  • 13 replies
  • 4500 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 5 in conversation
Top Contributors