Reply
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2007-04-10

WNR834B - Need Smart Wizard Software

Hello:

I need to install the Smart Wizard software to run my WNR834B wireless N router. This is on a remote computer which cannot be connected to the router with a cable, so the CD that came with the router is not working.

Where can the Smart Wizard software for the WNR834B be downloaded from?

Thanks Smiley Happy
Virtuoso
Posts: 12,951
Registered: ‎2015-07-05

Re: WNR834B - Need Smart Wizard Software

The setup CD is simply a utility which aids in the initial setup of the router, it does not need to be used with each PC connecting to the network afterwards, and it does not install any software on the PC. For this initial setup the PC often needs to have a wired connection to the router, because the wireless options in the router are disabled by default.

So if your router is already set up and enabled for wireless you simply need to scan for wireless networks with the wireless PC and connect to yours when you see it, and enter any security key you have set.

See this;

http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=3989
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2007-04-10

Re: WNR834B - Need Smart Wizard Software

Hey there Mars, and thanks for the speedy reply. Smiley Happy

So you are saying just to use the Windows connection tool rather than the Smart Wizard? I have the Smart Wizard on my other machines and really like how it distinguishes the networks.

I will give this a try, but is there a place on the web to download Smart Wizard software if I don't like how this works?
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNR834B - Need Smart Wizard Software

you really dont get download for that.. plus.. really don't need it and you will do just fine to accessing the router if you need it manual has how to log in..
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Virtuoso
Posts: 12,951
Registered: ‎2015-07-05

Re: WNR834B - Need Smart Wizard Software

When you say you have a smart wizard on other machines, you are probably referring to the configuration utility for the network device on each particular PC, not the router setup wizard which is only run once at initial setup.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNR834B - Need Smart Wizard Software

why do send the CD to begin with.. what confusion after all..Smiley Very Happy Smiley Very Happy
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2009-03-31

Re: WNR834B - Need Smart Wizard Software

I apologize in advance for not understanding the previous comments, but I also need the SOFTWARE PROGRAM you refer to as SMART WIZARD.

I was told to come to the NetGear website and get it (according to the instructions in the box) but it is no where to be found.

When I wrote to tech support, I got a totally ignorant form-letter from some person who obviously did not read anything I asked. (auto-responder in Pakistan?)

All I want to do, is have the shortest, cleanest, install. I was under the impression that this was possible with this unit, and now I find the software program to make this happen, can't be found, and the ones who are 'in the know" don't answer when people ask.

Does this exist, and if so, where can we download it. Saying "it isn't necessary" doesn't really explain anything to us "dummies".

Thanks.Smiley Sad
Virtuoso
Posts: 12,951
Registered: ‎2015-07-05

Re: WNR834B - Need Smart Wizard Software

Many people are not aware that the router is a stand alone network device, and the CD that is provided with the router is used by a PC to configure the router, it does not make that PC special and does not install any drivers etc on the PC (none are needed). The setup CD is little more than an automated script. Once the router is set up it operates on its own, there is no special controlling PC, and the PC used for the setup is no more significant to the router than any other PC on the network.

The Smart Wizard is built into the router firmware and can be run when you log into the router typically at http://192.168.1.1 or http://192.168.0.1 (default login ID username – admin, password – password). The router uses HTML style pages for its configuration so you set it up using a web browser (the preference is Internet Explorer), and you don’t need an Internet connection to do this, just an Ethernet connection from the PC to the router.

If you follow the link I gave in the second post above it should help in setting up the router without the need for the setup CD.
Aspirant
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎2009-04-24

Re: WNR834B - Need Smart Wizard Software

I need this software too for a re-setup of my router and lost my CD. Why are people so adamant about not helping someone find a place to download it?

Rude if you ask me
Virtuoso
Posts: 12,951
Registered: ‎2015-07-05

Re: WNR834B - Need Smart Wizard Software

Hudson wrote:
I need this software too for a re-setup of my router and lost my CD. Why are people so adamant about not helping someone find a place to download it?

Rude if you ask me


Are you serious? If there is no download available then what answer do you expect? And can’t you accept the fact that the setup CD isn’t even necessary since the router can be set up quite easily manually?
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNR834B - Need Smart Wizard Software

Hudson wrote:
I need this software too for a re-setup of my router and lost my CD. Why are people so adamant about not helping someone find a place to download it?

Rude if you ask me


typical rage user who don't quite listen to useful source already posted here to help users.

http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=26471

If you want to help. Ask nicely. I would watch your would come out your mouth.. you been warned.
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2009-04-15

Re: WNR834B - Need Smart Wizard Software

Nice little thread for a newbie like me, cleared a couple of things up.

Thanks for the link to the router jmizoguchi, I was just wondering where I get my username and password to log in to access the router as I have tried to use the details I use to log on to the Netgear website (and these forums Smiley Surprised)??

I have been using Netgear and my router for around 2 years but never needed to access it and didn't even know that you could.

I was totally new/dumb to the Internet and computers back then and got someone to sort it out for me solely to play poker but I am a hell of a lot more tech savvy now and am thinking there will be lot's for me do and learn with access to that.

Thanks!
Life, like all other games, becomes fun when one realizes that it's just a game!



Top-PS3Games.com
Aspirant
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2009-04-15

Re: WNR834B - Need Smart Wizard Software

I mean thanks Mars Mug for link :confused: sorry Smiley Very Happy
Life, like all other games, becomes fun when one realizes that it's just a game!



Top-PS3Games.com
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2009-06-19

Re: WNR834B - Need Smart Wizard Software

Mars Mug wrote:
Many people are not aware that the router is a stand alone network device, and the CD that is provided with the router is used by a PC to configure the router, it does not make that PC special and does not install any drivers etc on the PC (none are needed). The setup CD is little more than an automated script. Once the router is set up it operates on its own, there is no special controlling PC, and the PC used for the setup is no more significant to the router than any other PC on the network.

The Smart Wizard is built into the router firmware and can be run when you log into the router typically at http://192.168.1.1 or http://192.168.0.1 (default login ID username – admin, password – password). The router uses HTML style pages for its configuration so you set it up using a web browser (the preference is Internet Explorer), and you don’t need an Internet connection to do this, just an Ethernet connection from the PC to the router.

If you follow the link I gave in the second post above it should help in setting up the router without the need for the setup CD.


Its not so much that i think that i need the instillation software, its that I'm trying to figure out how i setup a password for my router. I figured you needed the instillation disc to get to those options. I need the password because i live in a large apartment complex, and i really just would like my internet connection for my own use and not everyone elses.Smiley Tongue But the buyer having a mac computer does not exactly seem to be what they were planning on (which is idiotic).

I tried going to the http://192.168.1.1 or http://192.168.0.1 posted above, but that still did not give me what i am looking for, because when i tried it, (on internet explorer) i entered my admin which was admin and password which was password, but the result was 401 unauthorized!? Now what? :rolleyes:

Just trying to find an answerSmiley Sad
Virtuoso
Posts: 12,951
Registered: ‎2015-07-05

Re: WNR834B - Need Smart Wizard Software

You got to the login screen for the Netgear router so after that all you can do is enter the correct password. If the default didn’t work then it’s been changed, if you don’t know what it has changed to then to access the router settings you have no option other than to factory reset the router to clear all settings back to defaults, including the password. You will then have to set up the router again.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNR834B - Need Smart Wizard Software

I tried going to the http://192.168.1.1 or http://192.168.0.1 posted above, but that still did not give me what i am looking for, because when i tried it, (on internet explorer) i entered my admin which was admin and password which was password, but the result was 401 unauthorized!? Now what?


make sure you using PC directly to the router and see. no wireless
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2009-09-09

HELp

i have a Netgear Wn834b and i and setting it up and i went to connect to the wirless on it i know the username but i have forgotton the password/passphrase. and i dont know how to reset it is there something i can download?
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: HELp

jlk327486 wrote:
i have a Netgear Wn834b and i and setting it up and i went to connect to the wirless on it i know the username but i have forgotton the password/passphrase. and i dont know how to reset it is there something i can download?


you need to access the router, if you can not do that,

1. reset ( see router reset on my sig below , step1)

2. try disable firewall on PC, use IE broswer
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2009-12-13

Re: WNR834B - Need Smart Wizard Software

Mars Mug wrote:
Many people are not aware that the router is a stand alone network device, and the CD that is provided with the router is used by a PC to configure the router, it does not make that PC special and does not install any drivers etc on the PC (none are needed). The setup CD is little more than an automated script. Once the router is set up it operates on its own, there is no special controlling PC, and the PC used for the setup is no more significant to the router than any other PC on the network.

The Smart Wizard is built into the router firmware and can be run when you log into the router typically at http://192.168.1.1 or http://192.168.0.1 (default login ID username – admin, password – password). The router uses HTML style pages for its configuration so you set it up using a web browser (the preference is Internet Explorer), and you don’t need an Internet connection to do this, just an Ethernet connection from the PC to the router.

If you follow the link I gave in the second post above it should help in setting up the router without the need for the setup CD.



The link in your second post above is useless...it says I do not have access. The login for my router (usename-admin, password -password) apparently is incorrect as it tells me that the password is incorrect. I have a NETGEAR WNDR3300 PAPERWEIGHT!!! Netgear support is useless...no setup CD in the box...no place to download it at the Netgear website like I was told to do....lesson learned for me...do not buy another netgear product EVER!!! Can you tell I am frustrated???
Aspirant
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2010-02-13

Re: WNR834B - Need Smart Wizard Software

I am trying to find out if a neatgear EGT624v2 can be configured with vlan's ??? Can you help?? Thanks, James
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNR834B - Need Smart Wizard Software

garnerja wrote:
I am trying to find out if a neatgear EGT624v2 can be configured with vlan's ??? Can you help?? Thanks, James


NO,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNR834B - Need Smart Wizard Software

ggussy wrote:
The link in your second post above is useless...it says I do not have access. The login for my router (usename-admin, password -password) apparently is incorrect as it tells me that the password is incorrect. I have a NETGEAR WNDR3300 PAPERWEIGHT!!! Netgear support is useless...no setup CD in the box...no place to download it at the Netgear website like I was told to do....lesson learned for me...do not buy another netgear product EVER!!! Can you tell I am frustrated???


NONE is useless..

those are the default options for ANY newer netgear devices.

READ stickiness
http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=26471


all seems a personal issues.

hard reset the router and start all over.
bottom of the UNIT will show the exact default info for the router

you can setup ANY router without CD. if you are not capable of any, hire a tech

I'm watching your behavior so watch mouth coming out of you.. you are one step to be banned
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2011-11-29

Re: WNR834B - Need Smart Wizard Software

I need the smart wizard because I bought a WNR834b V2 on ebay and it has the DD-WRT on it. I have tried everything to get it back to stock firmware and it says FAILS. Using .chk file

I installed a while back on a E1000 DD-WRT and was able to go back to stock.

Anybody have the smart wizard? The wnr834b does not have it built in no more. I could also use a backup from another wnr834b v2. Any help?

wdethoma@hotmail.com
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WNR834B - Need Smart Wizard Software

You do not need it.. Go to DD-WRT. They have to reflash back using TFTP
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2011-11-29

Re: WNR834B - Need Smart Wizard Software

Did TFTP and wnr834b times out. Did the plug in and press enter on teh command for TFTP and nothing. It's like DD-WRT will not permit a upgrade
Discussion Stats
  • 27 replies
  • 38258 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 12 in conversation
Top Contributors