Reply
Aspirant
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2011-10-20

WPS and Wireless - Status LED issue

Hello to everyone.
This is my first post in this board and first of all, I wish to greet the forum staff and all the users.

I've just bought a DGND3700 and I've a problem with Wireless status LED: it doesn't work.
If I press for some second the Wireless on/off button, the wi-fi connections switch on or switch off correctly, but the Wireless status LED is always off.

Instead, the WPS status LED flashes (blinking green) for about two minutes only when I press the WPS on/off button and after it goes out.
The solid green LED doesn't switch on never.



l contacted the Netgear support and they advised me to return my router to the seller for to change it.
Before to do it, I wish to know if there is anyone who had a similar issue and how he solved it.

Thanks in advance for your replies and sorry for my bad English.
Luminary
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: WPS and Wireless - Status LED issue

WPS is for WPS capable wifi devices and different way to connect to the router

Two types way to connect

WPS and
Standard normal encryption -WPA,WPA2


WPS will timeout in 2min when there is no WPS capable wifi device initiate the connection . Manual will describe all this

Go to support.netgear.com and download the manual
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Aspirant
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2011-10-20

Re: WPS and Wireless - Status LED issue

Thanks Jmizoguchi, for your prompt reply an for your advices. I'm happy to read that my router haven't any problem with WPS status LED. Can you tell me something about the Wireless status LED? I didn't find any information about it on manual.
Apprentice
Posts: 2,024
Registered: ‎2011-05-23

Re: WPS and Wireless - Status LED issue

mikark wrote:
l contacted the Netgear support and they advised me to return my router to the seller for to change it.
Before to do it, I wish to know if there is anyone who had a similar issue and how he solved it.

Forget about if anyone had a similar issue and how they solved it. Don't waste time with that -furthermore don't attempt to do anything that may invalidate your returning the router.

The Wireless LED is suppose to be on by default when you are first setting up the router. Netgear's support obviously realised that something was wrong or faulty hence the reason that they advised you to return it.
Aspirant
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2011-10-20

Re: WPS and Wireless - Status LED issue

Joe_ wrote:
Forget about if anyone had a similar issue and how they solved it. Don't waste time with that -furthermore don't attempt to do anything that may invalidate your returning the router.

The Wireless LED is suppose to be on by default when you are first setting up the router. Netgear's support obviously realised that something was wrong or faulty hence the reason that they advised you to return it.


Therefore, there is no problem in my router and even on your WNDR3700 the LED is switched off?
It's right?

Maybe the man (or woman) of the Netgear support who advised me to return the router doesn't know very well as the WNDR3700 works.
Apprentice
Posts: 2,024
Registered: ‎2011-05-23

Re: WPS and Wireless - Status LED issue

mikark wrote:
I've just bought a DGND3700...

mikark wrote:
...and even on your WNDR3700 the LED....

DGND or WNDR, which is it? They are two different units.

Joe_ wrote:
The Wireless LED is suppose to be on by default...
...hence the reason that they advised you to return it
.

What are you unclear about? Return the unit!
Novice
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2011-09-02

Re: WPS and Wireless - Status LED issue

It's time to make a clarification: mikark says that there's a led on the wi-fi button power. But the situation is this:



Ok, now?
Aspirant
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2011-10-20

Re: WPS and Wireless - Status LED issue

Joe_ wrote:
DGND or WNDR, which is it? They are two different units.

It's only a my misprint.
Obviously, I'm talking about the DGND3700.

Joe_ wrote:
What are you unclear about? Return the unit!


I can accept irony, but I can't accept you take fun of me!
Aspirant
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2011-10-20

Re: WPS and Wireless - Status LED issue

Websurfer wrote:
It's time to make a clarification: mikark says that there's a led on the wi-fi button power. But the situation is this:



Ok, now?


Ok, I think you are right.

But I saw the wireless status LED switched on in a picture published on Netgear official web site and I thought thate the LED had to be present and working.

Picture by Netgear official web site:
http://www.netgear.com/home/products/wirelessrouters/high-performance/DGND3700.aspx

Apprentice
Posts: 2,024
Registered: ‎2011-05-23

Re: WPS and Wireless - Status LED issue

@Websurfer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a picture that is very clear.

@mikark,

The fact is that both the DGND3700 and the WNDR3700 do exist. We must be sure about which one we (or at least me) are dealing with instead of haring off in a certain direction, only to realise at some later stage that we aren't talking about the same unit.

Secondly, I thought that I had been very clear on what to do. This allied to the fact that Netgear support had themselves instructed you to return the router. For that matter, it's possible that when you were dealing with NG you also told them it was a WNDR3700 and that's why they told you to return the unit.

I'm just seeking clarity. I am not trying to make fun of you, and if you got that impression, I apologise.

Thanks to Websurfer posting in graphic detail, you should have no confusion now.
Aspirant
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎2011-10-20

Re: WPS and Wireless - Status LED issue

Joe_ wrote:
@Websurfer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a picture that is very clear.

@mikark,

The fact is that both the DGND3700 and the WNDR3700 do exist. We must be sure about which one we (or at least me) are dealing with instead of haring off in a certain direction, only to realise at some later stage that we aren't talking about the same unit.

Secondly, I thought that I had been very clear on what to do. This allied to the fact that Netgear support had themselves instructed you to return the router. For that matter, it's possible that when you were dealing with NG you also told them it was a WNDR3700 and that's why they told you to return the unit.

I'm just seeking clarity. I am not trying to make fun of you, and if you got that impression, I apologise.

Thanks to Websurfer posting in graphic detail, you should have no confusion now.

Thanks for your reply and for your clarity.

However, when I contacted the Netgear support I specified that the device was a DGND3700.
Really I don't know how I did in my previous post, but as I wrote, I made only a misprint.
Aspirant
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎2011-10-06

Re: WPS and Wireless - Status LED issue

The LEDs seem to be a bit quirky. I am sending this via a wired ethernet connection between PC an DGND3700 but the LAN Port LED is not lit although it was earlier!
Apprentice
Posts: 2,024
Registered: ‎2011-05-23

Re: WPS and Wireless - Status LED issue

32110 wrote:
The LEDs seem to be a bit quirky. I am sending this via a wired ethernet connection between PC an DGND3700 but the LAN Port LED is not lit although it was earlier!

If I get you correctly:
- You are connected to a LAN port and it is working (that's how you are sending the post),
- yet the LED for that LAN port is off!

If so, you should open a case at my.netgear.com and report the matter. While sharing info like this on the forum is welcome, it is only by reporting these matters directly to Netgear that users may be assured that it reaches where it's supposed to.
Aspirant
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎2011-10-06

Re: WPS and Wireless - Status LED issue

Joe - You understand correctly and I have just submitted this to Netgear as you suggest.
Aspirant
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎2011-10-06

Re: WPS and Wireless - Status LED issue

I should add to my post above that the LAN LED has previously worked and that those adjacent to the cable connections are working correctly.
Discussion Stats
  • 14 replies
  • 3392 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 5 in conversation
Top Contributors