Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎2009-11-21

WPS process is in progress, please apply the changes later.

[ Edited ]

This is seriously retarded. Why on earth can't I change wireless settings when WPS is in progress? I'm the admin!

Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎2009-11-21

Re: WPS process is in progress, please apply the changes later.

I can't find a way to make changes to my wireless settings now, I always get this message. Have tried to power off/on the router.
Contributor
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎2010-03-01

Re: WPS process is in progress, please apply the changes later.

I am not even using WPS, but I get this message, and thus cannot Apply changes to my Security settings. I tried turning OFF the wireless using the switch on the front, no help.
Anybody know how to get around this?
Contributor
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎2010-03-01

Re: WPS process is in progress, please apply the changes later.

Well, I went to "Add WPS Client" and then cancelled, and after that I was able to proceed with changes in Wireless Settings.
Some messages pop up that are NOT show-stoppers, like the one about having only one WEP channel.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎2009-11-21

Re: WPS process is in progress, please apply the changes later.

That worked!
N/A
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2011-04-08

Re: WPS process is in progress, please apply the changes later.

I had the same problem. The WPS button on the front of the router got jammed and the WPS process was continuously running and froze the router.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2012-01-04

Re: WPS process is in progress, please apply the changes later.

I upgraded to firmware V1.1.1.58, which has a new GUI, and I can't for the life of me find a button or link labelled "Add WPS Client" in order to use this workaround. (I'm trying to disable the router's PIN for better security, as recommended in recent security alerts, and it won't let me apply that change.)

Can anyone lead me by the hand to finding "Add WPS Client" in the new GUI?

Thanks much.
Contributor
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎2010-03-01

Re: WPS process is in progress, please apply the changes later.

V1.1.1.58 ??? Is that for WNDR3700 V1 hardware ?
On v1.0.16.98, "Add WPS Client" is upper left in the blue sidebar, just below "Setup Wizard" ...
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎2012-01-04

Re: WPS process is in progress, please apply the changes later.

Sorry, I posted on the wrong router's board after finding this thread via Google. My router is a WNR2000v3.

Thanks for your answer. It actually led me to the solution on my router, which is to click the "WPS Wizard" button in the left-hand column. This initiates the process to add a client and lets you choose to do it manually, which can then be cancelled. The same workaround applies. I was able to save my setting.

Thanks again.
N/A
Posts: 0
Registered: ‎2012-01-31

Re: WPS process is in progress, please apply the changes later.

Thanks for the info. The "cancel" trick worked. Would still like to know just why it thinks it's in the middle of the WPS process when nobody started one ...

N6AC wrote:
Well, I went to "Add WPS Client" and then cancelled, and after that I was able to proceed with changes in Wireless Settings.
Some messages pop up that are NOT show-stoppers, like the one about having only one WEP channel.
Discussion Stats
Top Contributors