Reply
Initial Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2011-08-29

What is NETGEAR Genie?

Moderator
Posts: 8,423
Registered: ‎2006-11-24

Re: What is NETGEAR Genie?

Click the link - the page tells you what Netgear Genie is and even has a YouTube video explaining it.

What I'd like to know is what routers does it support.

Give a man a fish, feed him for a day
Teach a man to fish, feed him for life.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: What is NETGEAR Genie?

genie is software that will allow easier access to the basic information about the router and also if you need to change you can login into the router GUI as well. when using genie access the router GUI via wireless while using genie will not work because new firmware has updated to block access to router GUI from wireless.
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
NETGEAR Employee
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎2011-01-14

Re: What is NETGEAR Genie?

NETGEAR Genie (http://www.netgear.com/genie) is a dashboard allowing you to easily manage your home network, name a few things Genie does:
1. Allow you to manage router settings like wireless settings, guest acces, Traffic metering, ReadySHARE
2. Allow you to activate and manage parental controls
3. A network map allows you to see visually what devices are connected to your network
4. It will constantly monitor your Internet connectivity, if the computer disconnects from the Internet, Genie will be able to help you to auto fix the issue, it can fix most common wireless related issues for example.
5. You can use Genie to connect to any wireless network, and can check wireless interference in your neighborhood.

BTW, a correction to one of the comments in this topic, router firmware does allow a client to access its GUI from both wireless and wired connection, there is no new firmware to restrict only wired connection. The only recommendation NETGEAR has is to not update the router firmware through wireless connection.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: What is NETGEAR Genie?

4300v2 does... limited from wireless for router gui using genie or by standard IP Smiley Happy
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Respected Contributor
Posts: 779
Registered: ‎2007-03-07

Re: What is NETGEAR Genie?

GENIE desn't identify all of my devices in the network map. 3700 V1 4.98
4xR6300 AC1750 V1 - V1.0.2.78_1.0.58 whole house router+wireless. 51 devices connected.
1xWNDR3700 N600 V2 - V1.0.1.14 provides internet to my first floor and back yard

2xWNDR3400 N600 V1 - V1.0.0.50_20.0.59 running faithfully in a crowded apt building

2xWNDR3300 N600 V1 - V1.0.45 over 2 years since reboot

3xWRT54G/GS - DD-WRT what can you say about the legendary WRT54

DIR-615 vC1 3.13NA - great little router

DIR-655 vA3 1.37NA - RETIRED never worked right with OOMA

EDIMAX EW-7416APn v2 1.13

all NETGEARS are factory recertified except 1xWNDR3400



HOW TO: My router firmware upgrade instructions:

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=425691&postcount=4



HOW TO: Reinstall the firmware on a router without the setup CD recovery tool

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19841/~/reinstall-the-firmware-on-a-router-without-the-setup-cd-recovery-tool



HOW TO: Extend AP on separate LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=479421&postcount=5



HOW TO: Extend AP on the same LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=481991&postcount=2
Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎2010-01-14

Re: What is NETGEAR Genie?

You can click on the icon on the network map, click on modify and change it to a different icon identifying it as a camera, gaming console etc...

You are correct, Genie does not recognize all devices. It is being enhanced.

Meanwhile, Please do use the following workaround.

Thanks

Som
Respected Contributor
Posts: 779
Registered: ‎2007-03-07

Re: What is NETGEAR Genie?

updating f/w to 1.0.7.98 solved the problem

madhatter wrote:
GENIE desn't identify all of my devices in the network map. 3700 V1 4.98
4xR6300 AC1750 V1 - V1.0.2.78_1.0.58 whole house router+wireless. 51 devices connected.
1xWNDR3700 N600 V2 - V1.0.1.14 provides internet to my first floor and back yard

2xWNDR3400 N600 V1 - V1.0.0.50_20.0.59 running faithfully in a crowded apt building

2xWNDR3300 N600 V1 - V1.0.45 over 2 years since reboot

3xWRT54G/GS - DD-WRT what can you say about the legendary WRT54

DIR-615 vC1 3.13NA - great little router

DIR-655 vA3 1.37NA - RETIRED never worked right with OOMA

EDIMAX EW-7416APn v2 1.13

all NETGEARS are factory recertified except 1xWNDR3400



HOW TO: My router firmware upgrade instructions:

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=425691&postcount=4



HOW TO: Reinstall the firmware on a router without the setup CD recovery tool

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/19841/~/reinstall-the-firmware-on-a-router-without-the-setup-cd-recovery-tool



HOW TO: Extend AP on separate LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=479421&postcount=5



HOW TO: Extend AP on the same LAN

http://forum1.netgear.com/showpost.php?p=481991&postcount=2
Initial Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎2008-02-02

Re: What is NETGEAR Genie?

easyfly wrote:
www.netgear.com/genie
:confused:


I just purchased a new Netgear N600, and I have had so many problems, you just can't believe. It's so bad that I can't even log into Netgear genie. Been totally screwed by IYOGI who totally hosed my system, that I am fed up with them. I have no good words for Netgear either, because they sell a product, and pawn it off to a bunch of foreigners who want to always charge you to fix their mistakes. Really, totally FED UP.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 1,845
Registered: ‎2010-12-22

Re: What is NETGEAR Genie?

From my perspective, I wouldn't bother with the Netgear Genie and would log directly into the router. I see no practical use for the Netgear Genie other than to unnecessarily eat resources. Good luck with your issue.
_____
WNDR3700v1 (v1.0.7.98NA) - Router uptime (d:h:m:s): 1155:02:31:46 - How To Check and Change Your Router's Firmware: http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=63234
Discussion Stats
  • 9 replies
  • 13859 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 8 in conversation
Top Contributors