Novice

Which is better

54% at 162Mbps or 68% at 64Mbps

What do you think since I am completely new to this

Thanks
Virtuoso

Re: Which is better

You can’t tell which is better from those figures, you need to run a throughput test, e.g. take a look at IPerf / JPerf.
Novice

How do I do that?
Novice

can you do a test from computer to TV?
Guide

Since it's wireless, you're looking at half that for actual speed.
Virtuoso

joedtrucker wrote:
How do I do that?

If you Google iPerf you should find some instructions, it's not particularly difficult but really needs two computers for the test.
Aspirant

I don't understand what you mean with those percentages or how you obtained them. Are the Mbps link rates? How did you obtain them as well?

The most important measure of a network's performance is data throughput - the speed of transfer of data from one location (server, desktop, NAS, notebook, etc) to another on your Local Area Network (LAN). Throughput can be measured with a number of different applications such as iperf/jperf, LAN Speed Test, etc. You will need two computers setup on your LAN to do throughput testing. It has nothing to do with televisions.

I can help you with using iperf/jperf, having used both on Windows XP-based computers.

Please describe what it is you want to do and what hardware and operating system you use.
Novice

I don't understand what you mean with those percentages or how you obtained them. Are the Mbps link rates? How did you obtain them as well?

Yes link rates from genie on network map page

I just want to know what kind of signal (strength, consistency, drops) I am getting from my router to my TV which is 30' away. I would like to try this on the 5GHz and 2.4GHz to see which is better. I guess that I can just sit and watch a streaming program but I would like the data to back it up. Does that make sense?

Win 7
Intel 2500k@3.7
8GB
Gigabyte GA-768
EVGA 560ti
Aspirant