Reply
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎2012-08-09

disable firewall WNDR4500

How do I completely disable the firewall on my WNDR4500. I have no time to open the crap ton of ports needed for all my devices. Please let me know how I can do this.

Thanks!
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: disable firewall WNDR4500

use DMZ in the router settings
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎2012-08-09

Re: disable firewall WNDR4500

Could you be a lil more specific.....do just disable it? or are there other settings?
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎2012-08-09

Re: disable firewall WNDR4500

i am new to the netgear system, it confuses me to no end.
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,134
Registered: ‎2011-11-12

Re: disable firewall WNDR4500

You do not want to disable the router firewall, ever. It protects the router from outside attacks.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: disable firewall WNDR4500

blacksunshine wrote:
Could you be a lil more specific.....do just disable it? or are there other settings?


DMZ is under WAN setup..

read manual regarding to DMZ.
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎2012-08-09

Re: disable firewall WNDR4500

I don't need a firewall. ppl can attack me all they want. nothing on my computer to steal. Plus i have other ways to keep the bad guys at bay. I am just upset that netgear won't let you physically disable it. I would much rather use pc software then router firewalls. My linksys was very easy to disable. got amazing speeds and never had to worry about it getting slow. the netgear has some pretty goofy things. for example. I download TV shows for my granny from india. I was getting 5.8mb download speed and since i installed the WNDR4500 i get 600kb/s (give or take) and QoS is useless, port forwarding doesn't work....i dunno whatelse to do. I have never used DMZ and the instructions with this router are pathetic. doesn't explain how to do anything and what it all means........ So yea. I hate firewalls and DMZ makes no sense since nothing explains the proper procedure to fixing it. However I notice the DMZ server address can be changed. what happens if i make it 192.168.1.1????
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: disable firewall WNDR4500

You can not assign router IP in DMZ
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎2012-08-09

Re: disable firewall WNDR4500

so would you care to explain the workings of a DMZ server. Documetation explains nothing as does the interwebs
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: disable firewall WNDR4500

By pass firewall
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Discussion Stats
  • 11 replies
  • 5946 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 3 in conversation
Top Contributors