Reply
Initial Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2013-06-30

windows 8.1

My netgear router show's it is not connect to the internet, but it is and i have the latest updates and when i use my network scan ( to see what devices are connected ) it keeps scanning model WNDR3400V2, Firmware Version V1.0.0.34 otherwise it works fine only noticed this after installing Windows 8.1 BETA, but i haven't checked it for a long time either...
Respected Contributor
Posts: 1,134
Registered: ‎2011-11-12

Re: windows 8.1

It's a windows Beta... call Bill Gates.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: windows 8.1

When you are using Beta O/S, Netgear will NOT support nor fixes the issues until products become retail release
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Initial Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2013-06-30

Re: windows 8.1

Thanks very much, i am not tech savvy at all and i did suspect as much, had a problem with Nortons 360 and they had a beta for that program that works just fine with the new windows 8.1 beta,, again thank you.
Regular Contributor
Posts: 89,285
Registered: ‎2009-01-27

Re: windows 8.1

It is publicly release beta so some precautions should be made but by the history of Netgear, usually they will not fixes until full release of O/S version

I would contact support via portal at my.netgear.com and ask them since it is Genie application is software so maybe they may have different road map

Firmware related will be usually so not updated till full o/s release
VPN Case Study

VPNCASESTUDY.COM

"Our Second To None VPN Related Setup Case Study[/COLOR][/URL]

"One Stop Solution To Your Netgear VPN Connectivity"

*Visit the site for Non-VPN related Doc & Links* [Windows & Mac user/support]





June Mizoguchi-
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 12,950
Registered: ‎2015-07-05

Re: windows 8.1

This is more likely to be an issue with the client adaptor driver than the router.
Esteemed Contributor
Posts: 2,024
Registered: ‎2011-05-23

Re: windows 8.1

nickeysdog wrote:
My netgear router show's it is not connect to the internet, but it is...

...otherwise it works fine...

By any chance, are you using the Netgear Genie app? If you are, and this is what is "showing" you that you are disconnected, then I believe I have seen this mentioned elsewhere on these forums. The Netgear Genie app is simply a desktop application that is supposed to make certain interactions with the router more convenient, but it's not absolutely necessary for the router to function. In fact, some users have no faith in it because it has proven to be buggy when they use it. Others don't recommend it's use at all - instead they recommend you use a browser to access the router's GUI whenever you need to. Personally, I've never felt the inclination to ever try it.
Occasional Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎2013-10-17

Re: windows 8.1

I'm having same issue with, now retail/official, windows 8.1 update. After updating to 8.1 the Genie icon in systray stays red and says the internet connection needsa to be fixed(even when it is working fine.) Any luck on your side on this issue? I understand Genie is not essential but it will good if it worked under win 8.1(it worked fine under win 8.0)
Thanks,
Nick.
Initial Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎2013-10-18

Re: windows 8.1

Exactly the same problem here with Netgear Genie and Windows 8.1.
Initial Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎2013-10-17

Re: windows 8.1

Had the same problem last night after finished with 8.1. My solution was to hard reset the router and install again theginie app.after that everything works again.
Discussion Stats
  • 12 replies
  • 11515 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 8 in conversation
Top Contributors