Discussion stats
  • 4 replies
  • 1048 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 2 in conversation
Announcements

Top Contributors
Reply
Highlighted
Apprentice

BR500 Reboot deletes configuration settings

What am I doing wrong?

When the BR500 reboots, I loose Port Forwarding rules, DHCP Address reservations, OpenVPN, Dynamic DNS.  

I've tried saving settings as a backup and then restoring the backup, but the reboot part of that process just resets everything.

When I re-create the DHCP Addresss reservations, they don't take effect until a reboot.  Which clears out the settings.

 

Am I missing a "Save Settings" button somewhere in the UI?

 

I have to have OpenVPN operational for the many times that Insight Instant VPN fails.

anyway, I'm kind of at a loss for what to do next.  Other than setting aside three to four hours to call phone support...

thanks

-patrick

Model: BR500|Insight Instant VPN Router
Message 1 of 5

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Apprentice

Re: BR500 Reboot deletes configuration settings

The BR500 has been replaced with the new one that Netgear sent.  

This particular issue has been fixed.

thank you

View solution in original post

Model: BR500|Insight Instant VPN Router
Message 5 of 5

All Replies
Highlighted
NETGEAR Moderator

Re: BR500 Reboot deletes configuration settings

@Ppummill,

 

Found out that you have already contacted NETGEAR Support with regard to your concern.  Your support ticket has been escalated already to the Level 3 tier.  You may post here any updates on your support ticket.

 

 

Regards,

 

DaneA

NETGEAR Community Team

Message 2 of 5
Highlighted
Apprentice

Re: BR500 Reboot deletes configuration settings

Thank you for your response,

I will certainly post with updates and hopefully the solution when this is resolved.

 

Message 3 of 5
Highlighted
Apprentice

Re: BR500 Reboot deletes configuration settings

After a two hour chat session, I was referred to a higher level of support.  They believe that the problem is being casued by bad flash ram.  An RMA has been issued.  When the new unit is in position, I'll report back.

 

I wonder if this would have continued to be an issue if the settings I was changing could have been accessed from within the Insight app.  There is a lot that is only accessible via the web UI on a locally connected computer.  

 

Model: BR500|Insight Instant VPN Router
Message 4 of 5
Highlighted
Apprentice

Re: BR500 Reboot deletes configuration settings

The BR500 has been replaced with the new one that Netgear sent.  

This particular issue has been fixed.

thank you

View solution in original post

Model: BR500|Insight Instant VPN Router
Message 5 of 5