Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Green IT trying to setup vpn on a SRXN3205

BpITSolutions
Aspirant

Green IT trying to setup vpn on a SRXN3205

As the title of the thread suggests. Our Network Engineer was let go a week ago for reasons I won't get into. I'm a senior repair tech that has been thrust into filling his position.

The owner recently bought an SRXN3205 and it was easy to install and setup. We are assigned a static IP from our ISP. I'll call it 20.90.100.60 for simplicity. The gateway is the same except ending in ...1 (obviously) and the netmask is 255.255.255.128. I have set our static IP in the WAN settings of our SRXN3205 and internal internet access is working fine.

The problem is the owner has asked me to set up a VPN via the SRXN3205 so our web and graphic designer can access the servers from home.

I have read the manual tried to follow the SRXN3205 manual on page 6-4 to page 6-11 to setup the VPN but I'm completely at a loss on how to successfully set up this VPN. This is my first hands-on experience with VPNs.

What should I be using for a Remote Identifier and Local Identifier during the VPN Wizard?

We are only using the 'lite' VPN client that came on the CD with the SRXN3205 on the web/graphic designer's laptop. What do I need to do to set this up correctly for the VPN?

Message 1 of 12
BpITSolutions
Aspirant

Re: Green IT trying to setup vpn on a SRXN3205

I forgot to add, our internal network IP is 10.0.1.0 with a submask of 255.255.255.0.
Message 2 of 12
jmizoguchi
Virtuoso

see my site for case study.. fvx case study will work. or fvs336g for VPN client setup
Message 3 of 12
BpITSolutions
Aspirant

I appreciate the reply but your site requires a username and password to access the suggested 'case study'. I understand it is to control bandwidth costs but this would be the fifth email and registration I would have to go through today to solve what appears to be a simple configuration problem.