Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Netgear BR500 - VPN & Wireless

njbrown21
Aspirant

Netgear BR500 - VPN & Wireless

Hi, I an soon to be moving to Brunei and want to be able to access australian content on multiple devices so I recently purchased the insight instant VPN router. I am however not sure as to whether it will suit my needs. Does anyone know whether i can setup a VPN (i.e. NordVPN or PIA) on this router? Also I will require wifi and have a wifi router, am i able to connect this wifi router to the BR500 that will allow anyone connected to the wifi network to access the VPN without individual logins?

Apologies i am a novice technical person 🙂

Model: BR500|Insight Instant VPN Router
Message 1 of 7
DaneA
NETGEAR Employee Retired

@njbrown21,

Welcome to the community! Smiley Happy 

Does anyone know whether i can setup a VPN (i.e. NordVPN or PIA) on this router? 

You can use OpenVPN.  The guaranteed OpenVPN throughput with BR500 is at least 50mbps.  

Also I will require wifi and have a wifi router, am i able to connect this wifi router to the BR500 that will allow anyone connected to the wifi network to access the VPN without individual logins?

The BR500 does not have the capability to provide a wireless network.  If you will connect a wireless router to the BR500, I suggest you to set the wireless router as a standalone access point.  Since the BR500 is already a router and you will connect a wireless router behind it, you will have a Double NAT scenario which is not good. 

To know more about Double NAT, kindly access the articles below: 

What is Double NAT?

How to fix issues with Double NAT

Since you need a wireless network, you may want to consider the network setup below: 

for tom2018.jpg