Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: cannot login to vpn firewall fvs318 after disabling dhcp - what did i do??

gebnoidea
Aspirant

cannot login to vpn firewall fvs318 after disabling dhcp - what did i do??

Please bear with me - I am not a network expert by any means and I know just enough to be dangerous.

I have had the VPN Firewall model FVS318 with 8-port switch for a long time and it has always worked fine with my cable modem internet connection from Comcast.  I was using Comcast's Arris cable modem, which had only a single port on it that I connected to the WAN port of the FVS318.  My wired devices connected directly to it, and I had a wireless access point that connected to one of its ports for my wireless devices.  I always had the FVS318 set up with DHCP enabled for the various devices connected to it.  Pretty simple, always worked great.  So far, so good.

Yesterday Comcast came and gave me a new device to upgrade/speed-up my service - a Cisco DPC3939 wireless gateway.  Unlike the Arris device, this new thing is a cable modem and wireless router in one - and it also has 4 Ethernet ports in the back for wired devices.  If I connect my wired devices (like the PC I am using right now) directly to the back of the DPC3939 (not using the FVS318 or anything else - just a straight connection) then I can get to the internet and also see everything else on my home network, wired or wireless.  

However, I have many more than 4 wired devices in total.  So I thought that I could simply plug the FVS318 into one of the 4 ports of the DPC3939, just as I did with the old Arris, and thus have more total ports available to me.  Of course, this did not work.  Not knowing what I am doing I then tried different things - plugging the cable into the "internet" port of the FVS318, plugging it into any of the "local" ports of the FVS318, plugging the other end into each of the 4 ports on the DPC3939 - and nothing worked.