× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: SFP/SFP+ Question (GC728X to AX6000)

Synica1
Guide

SFP/SFP+ Question (GC728X to AX6000)

Hi all,

From what I understand, the SFP+ slots in the GC728X do not permit auto-negotiation when using an AXM765 SFP+ module.  My question is, does that limitation originate in the AXM765 module, or is it a function of the GC728X that holds true for ALL SFP+ modules?  I am fairly new to the SFP/SFP+ realm, and am a little leery about picking up a SFP+ module that says it supports multi-rate.  I recently received a Nighthawk AX6000 for testing, and I'm wondering if I can use the 5G/2.5G/1G LAN port to a SFP+ module in AP mode.  All equipment is located in our wiring closet so distance isn't a concern.

Thanks!

Model: GC728X| Insight Managed 28-port Smart Cloud Switches
Message 1 of 4

Accepted Solutions
LaurentMa
NETGEAR Expert

Hi @Synica1 and @schumaku 

OK let me explain. The AXM765 SFP+ transceiver can work at:

• 2.5Gbps when inserted in a 2.5Gbps SFP port (garage)
  • 5Gbps when inserted in a 5Gbps SFP port (garage)
  • 10Gbps (30 meters) when inserted in a 10Gbps SFP+ port (garage)

To my knowledge, there is no such switch today with 2.5Gbps or 5Gbps SFP ports (garages). So basically, the AXM765 can only be used in a 10Gbps SFP+ port,  on a switch like the GC728X. You can connect another 10GBASE-T device (switch, or host) to the transceiver using CAT6A wiring up to 30 meters, at 10Gbps only.

The SFP+ port will not be capable of 2.5Gbps or 5Gbps, so AXM765 is "forcing" you to connect from a 10GBASE-T host at 10Gbps speed.

If you want, you can use a regular 1Gbps SFP transceiver like the AGM734. In that case, the SFP+ port will automatically revert back to 1Gbps (because it's detected as a purely 1Gbps transceiver), and you will be able to connect to your router using Cat5E or better, but at 1Gbps speed.

I hope this helps!

Regards,