× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

FSM 7328S Not Responsive on LAN Ports

gbrown1001
Aspirant

FSM 7328S Not Responsive on LAN Ports

Hi,

Got an ebay purchase here sold as working but I have no experience of these products. Basically I don't see a connection light if I plug in a LAN cable. I have just rebooted the switch and plugged in a console cable. It boots and I go into the Utility Menu (using Putty) - under Vital Product Data I get this:

Vital Product Data:-
Operational Code Image File Name - RELEASE_CUST_NG_GSM_REL620_6.2.0.14-netgear_fsm73xxs-LRM-QSr6v2m0b14.tgz
Rel 6, Ver 2, Maint Lev 0, Bld No 14
Timestamp - Mon Jul 2 14:34:49 EDT 2007
Number of components - 3
Device - netgear_fsm73xxs

If I start the application it seems to boot OK and sits at (Unit 1)>
If I hit enter it changes to (Unit 4)>

Whatever I now type I get:

started!

(Unit 1)>
(Unit 4)>show hardware
^
% Invalid input detected at '^' marker.

(Unit 4)>

So, I have no idea what to do with this. I am assuming it is configured in some kind of stack mode as a slave. I cannot find anywhere how to factory reset this thing, can anyone explain what I need to do from here? (Suspect I need to reflash but no clue how or what with!)

Thanks

Graham
Message 1 of 11
adit
Mentor

Re: FSM 7328S Not Responsive on LAN Ports

Check the manuals http://support.netgear.com/app/products/model/a_id/2409 Upgrade the firmware once you do get in.
Message 2 of 11
jmizoguchi
Virtuoso

manual do not reset options very well
Message 3 of 11
gbrown1001
Aspirant

Hi Adit,

The manual tells me I should get a login prompt but i don't. I just get this (Unit 4)> thing.

Will continue reading again (I picked out those areas out of 344 pages I thought were relevant before) but could really do with a hint from someone in the know!

Thanks

Graham
Message 4 of 11
jmizoguchi
Virtuoso

ftp://downloads.netgear.com/files/7300_CLI.pdf