× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

JGS524PE - ProSafe Plus Utility , The switch and manager IP address are not in the same subnet.

Cabinhaven
Aspirant

JGS524PE - ProSafe Plus Utility , The switch and manager IP address are not in the same subnet.

Hi all,    

I have a JGS524PE ProSafe Switch running Firmware version 2.0.1.26 that have not been updated in a very long time.  I wanted to update to the latest version firmware for this switch.  I am a novice at switches and assumed I could use the ProSafe Utility to do this firmware upgrade.  I tried the original version of the ProSafe Utility and it did load and displayed my switch.  I hit apply and entered my password and then received the following error.   "The Switch and Manager IP Address are not on the same subnet"  .

I then updated the ProSafe Utility to the current version and got the same results.  Any thoughts on what I can do to fix this issue?  I see some posts with this error and tried this procedure with no luck.

To fix this subnet conflict:

1. Disconnect the Ethernet cable between the switch and your network.
  2. Unplug the switch’s power cord
  3. Reconnect the Ethernet cable between the switch and your network.
  4. Plug the switch’s power cord into an electrical outlet.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

Message 1 of 24

Accepted Solutions
schumaku
Guru

Re: JGS524PE - ProSafe Plus Utility , The switch and manager IP address are not in the same subnet.

Of course you cant reach it - the first is the switch default IP address, the second is the IP address of your WIndows system. As these are not in the same subnet, the 192.168.0.239/24 can't be reached. temporarily change the LAN IP address of your Windows system to some address in the 192.168.0.0/24 (255.255.255.0) network, like 192.168.0.123. Now you will be able to reach the switch.

View solution in original post

Message 23 of 24

All Replies
DanielZhang