× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

M4300 multi stack design

APALM
Aspirant

M4300 multi stack design

We're looking at replacing our existing HP Procurve switch with the NetGear M4300 range.

Below is our proposed design, but as I'm new to these switch I'd like some feedback on this architecture if possible to ensure this is the best solution.

As we have a requirements for 8 Edge switches and 2 Server switches (ESXi cluster), we exceed the 8 switch per stack limit.

So, the conclusion was to create 3 stacks. Stack 1 would consist of two M4300-12X12F (or 8X8F) switches as a collapsed core, combine with two M4300-24X for the servers (ESXi cluster)

Although we could put the remaining 8 Edge switches into a single stack (I think), we thought that splitting these into 2 stacks would improve the performance (reduced over subscription to core/spine).

The Edge Stack 2 and Stack 3 would be joined to Stack 1 with 2 fibres each to form a LAG uplink.

PNG of suggested architecture attached.

Questions

• Is this a good solution for our requirements, if not, any suggestions appreciated?
  • For connecting the Edge stack to core switches, we will have one fibre going to the stack master and the second to the stack standby. Can these two fibres be in LAG?
  • We'll have multiple VLAN's (Data, Voice, SIP, Management). Can the Core M4300-12X12F switches act as as router for all these and route out to our Firewall cluster?

Many thanks in advance

Model: GSM4352PA|M4300-52G-PoE+ - 48x1G PoE+ Stackable Managed Switch with 2x10GBASE-T and 2xSFP+ (550W PSU), XSM4324CS|M4300-24X - Stackable Managed Switch with 24x10GBASE-T, XSM4324S|M4300-12X12F - Stackable Managed Switch with 24x10G including 12x10GBASE-T and 12xSFP+ Layer 3
Message 1 of 3

Accepted Solutions
msi
Luminary
Luminary

Re: M4300 multi stack design