× NETGEAR is aware of a growing number of phone and online scams. To learn how to stay safe click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Switch Advice

Ray79
Follower

Switch Advice

Community-

I am looking to purchase a managed PoE 16 port Gigabit switch for my home. I am very NEW to switches (NOVICE). It will be connecting my cameras, internet, home security system, TVs, etc..I would like honest objective reviews. I am looking at the GS116E200NAS, but not sure. 

Message 1 of 3
DaneA
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Hi @Ray79,

Welcome to the community! 🙂 

The GS116E-200NAS is the product order code for the GS116Ev2 switch being sold in North and Latin America.  

Does your cameras supports PoE?  If yes, I will not advise the GS116Ev2 switch.  The GS116Ev2 belongs to the Smart Managed Plus switches of NETGEAR which gives user the flexibility to configure certain static layer 2 settings in order to improve network efficiency and performance.  The configurable features are Port Mirroring and VLAN.  Also, Smart Managed Plus switches does not support management VLAN.  

I advised you the Smart Managed Pro switches of NETGEAR such as the GS418TPP.  Smart Managed Pro switches has many of the benefits of a managed switch without the complexity or cost of a fully managed switch. With a Smart Managed Pro switch, you can monitor ports, configure VLANs, configure management VLAN and set prioritization, all with an intuitive Web interface.   

The GS418TPP is a 16-port switch wherein all ports supports PoE/PoE+ on all 16 ethernet ports and has a PoE budget of 240W.  For more information about its specifications, access the link below:

GS418TPP Data Sheet

Furthermore, click on the link below to know more NETGEAR switch models that might fit your network needs:

NETGEAR Switch Selector

Regards,

DaneA

NETGEAR Community Team

Message 2 of 3
DaneA
NETGEAR Employee Retired

@Ray79,

I just want to follow-up on this.  Let us know if you have further inquiries.