× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Nighthawk M6 Pro Unlocked Hotspot 5G mmWave

Re: Aircard Modem Batteries

snipe122
Aspirant

Aircard 785 ok to keep on AC?

Hi,

is it ok to keep the Aircard on AC power all the time or does it damage the battery in any way? I get from time to time to display message that the battery is full. Actually it should not charge it when always plugged in or?

Is the behaviour different with the docking station? Any experiences?

Message 1 of 6
apac_se
Apprentice

Re: Aircard 785 ok to keep on AC?

Hi snipe122,

I am a Systems Engineer working for NETGEAR AirCard in Australia. It is safe to keep the AC charger plugged into your AC785S.

Thanks.
Message 2 of 6
snipe122
Aspirant

Re: Aircard 785 ok to keep on AC?

Hi,

thanks for the info! 🙂
Message 3 of 6
TurboTimAust
Aspirant

Aircard Modem Batteries

quote: "I am a Systems Engineer working for NETGEAR AirCard in Australia."

Hi apac_se

Could you tell me please

1. What would the normal life expectancy be for the W series batteries used in the aircard modems (24 hr charging and seated in base with 1 x LAN out)
  2. When they swell and blister are they at risk of catching fire?
  3. Lastly, would this be normal and to be expected regarding netgear batteries from your experience? Over what time frame?

Or maybe could you point me to where someone could answer these queries please?

Netgear WM-5 Cooked Battery 3.jpg782S

Thanks for your time

Message 4 of 6
DarrenM
Sr. NETGEAR Moderator

Hello TurbotimAust

I don't know the life expectancy when its plugged in 24/7 but this is not a good thing to do on a battery it will cause the swelling like you picture is showing. Yes it is at a higher risk of causing damages so replace this battery as soon as possible. here is a article talking about swollen batteries

http://jervisdabreo.com/thetechcorner/swollen-phone-battery/

DarrenM

Message 5 of 6
TurboTimAust