× Introducing the Orbi 970 Series Mesh System with WiFi 7 technology. For more information visit the NETGEAR Press Room.
Nighthawk M6 Pro Unlocked Hotspot 5G mmWave

Re: R7100LG internet connect drops out every hour precisely (interrupts video conf calls, games, ...

dam_ged
Guide

R7100LG Internet via LTE drops out every hour precisely (interrupts video conf calls, games, stream)

Hello,

I have been using the R7100LG for several months without any noticeable issue until I started using video conferencing (Skype for business, formerly Microsoft Lync) on a regular basis leveraging screen sharing as a way to present slides to a remote audience.

ISSUE: The internet connection interrupts for 2 seconds then reconnects *every hour exactly*.

As a result my screen sharing stops; I have to wait for the reconnection and rejoin the meeting then reshare my screen with my customer which is big inconvenience sometimes.I face similar issues although with much less business impact when watching streaming videos (it pauses 2/3 seconds then restarts) or playing video games (I get kicked out of battle net).

Notes:

- Interruption occurs exactly every 1 hour (I spend a lot of time testing with Lync screen sharing) e.g. 8:53, 9:53, 10:53, 11:53...

- I use 4G/LTE connection only (no DSL)

- Firmware version: V1.0.0.32_1.0.6

- I tried reboot and factory reset

- I tried with both WIFI and Ethernet, I have the issue with both

- I tried with another SIM card (from a different ISP), I have the same issue

- I tried to use the same SIM card on a much cheaper device (Huawei E5573 LTE hotspot, price tag 99EUR vs 300EUR for the Netgear Nighthawk R7100LG). No disconnects.

- I also tried to use the same SIM card on my mobile phone (Samsung s7), I have a good reception (strongest signal) where my router is and I could stay connected 3 hours in a row without any disconnect

---------------