× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Connected, no internet

Jacobnz
Guide

Connected, no internet

I'm a rookie and I know nothing about networks etc. So please talk in noobie terms.

I have connected my nas to the back of the wireless router via ethernet cable, I can log in to the admin page and share movies over the home network.

However I can't access my shares via the ready as app because it says my nas is offline.
I clicked check for firmware updates on the admin page but it said there was no internet connection.

What am I doing wrong?
Model: RN102|ReadyNAS 100 Series 2- Bay
Message 1 of 9

Accepted Solutions
Jacobnz
Guide

Solved.

When looking at the screenshot I noticed the date on the nas was set to 2016.
Once setting that to the correct date all issues resolved.

View solution in original post

Message 6 of 9

All Replies
Marc_V
NETGEAR Employee Retired

@Jacobnz

Have you checked if you have Internet connection from your router and that other devices can connect to on the Internet? Is the ReadyNAS joined already on ReadyCloud? You have access over LAN so you just need to make sure that the router can connect on the Internet.

Try to reboot both NAS and router or if you have set a static IP on the NAS then change it back to DHCP. Hope to hear an update.

HTH

Regards

Message 2 of 9
StephenB
Guru

@Marc_V wrote:

Try to reboot both NAS and router or if you have set a static IP on the NAS then change it back to DHCP.

Also, is it possible that your router is set up to block internet access for devices unless you explicitly tell it to allow it?  

What router do you have (manufacture + model)?

Message 3 of 9
StephenB
Guru

@Marc_V wrote:

Try to reboot both NAS and router or if you have set a static IP on the NAS then change it back to DHCP.

Also, is it possible that your router is set up to block internet access for devices unless you explicitly tell it to allow it?