× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Defrag can consume free space on disks.

BaJohn
Virtuoso

Defrag can consume free space on disks.

Being a newbie I have been trawling the forum to increase my knowledge of how things work.
I was shocked to find this not necessarily obvious information. If it isn't obvious to me, then it isn't to others.
The following is my attempted simple explanation of how carrying out a Defrag can affect the data stored on your system.

Conditions:-
1. Using new NASOS that utilizes BTRFS.
2. Use snapshots.
3. Bitrot protection on (CoW implemented)
4. Files in the share are frequently modified.
5. You run the NAS Defrag.

Underlying problem is that the defrag breaks the snapshot links, so the data has to be replicated instead.

This is important so that people near full utilisation of their disk DO NOT carry out a Defrag if they meet the conditions above.
Hope this is helpful to highlight this. Being a newbie, I know I would want this information.

Perhaps this is a facility that will be rectified in a later version of the OS?
Message 1 of 9
StephenB
Guru

Re: Defrag can consume free space on disks.

There already are several places in the forum where we point out that CoW shouldn't be enabled in cases where files are frequently modified. This is just one example (the file was fragmented in the first place because CoW was enabled and it was modified).

I believe 6.1.9 was adjusted so the snapshots are not defragmented. If a file in the main share is defragmented because of CoW then either you skip defragging that file, or you no longer share blocks with the snapshot (increasing space). There are no other options. There is a btrfs "snapshot aware" defrag option, but it created problems so the btfrs folks turned it off.

Note also that when the volume becomes full the NAS should automatically start deleting snapshots to free up space.