× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Disk Failure During Resynch of New HDD

Mark-D
Aspirant

Disk Failure During Resynch of New HDD

I've been using various ReadyNAS units since 2007 and for the first time I think I may have run into a very serious problem. Our ReadyNAS 314 had 4x3TB drives in there running in X-Raid and recently it got to over 90% full. So today I bought 4x6TB drives, to replace them. Unfortunately something has gone wrong during the replacement/rebuild of the first drive.

I ejected disk 1 and replaced it with one of the new 6TB drives (hot swap). It started rebuilding. I was working away and glanced at the ReadyNAS at various points and saw that the % was gradually increasing (at one point I noticed it was at about 70%). But shortly aftewards I started to get various alerts (some almost simultaneously). My ReadyNas is set up to send me email alerts and this is what it sent me during the process:
------------------------
- 4:43pm: Disk Model:WDC WD30EFRX-68AX9N0 Serial:WD-WMC1T2693974 was removed from Channel 1 of the head unit
- 4:43pm: Volume data health changed from Redundant to Degraded
- 4:45pm: Disk Model:WDC WD60EFRX-68L0BN1 Serial:WD-WX21DC7780KV was added to Channel 1 of the head unit.
- 4:46m: Resyncing started for Volume data.
- 10:04pm: Disk in channel 1 (Internal) changed state from RESYNC to ONLINE
- 10:04pm: Disk in channel 3 (Internal) changed state from ONLINE to FAILED
- 10:04pm: Volume data health changed from Degraded to Dead
- 10:06pm: Volume data is resynced
-------------------------