Reply

Drive size didn't change after removing 30gb?

glamisman
Aspirant

Drive size didn't change after removing 30gb?

I have removed over 30 gb on my nas drive and it still shows the same amount of space after that, I have rebooted and checked the recycle bin and it didn't have anything in it, I would think if you remove that amount it would show that, just like on the pc hard drive.

Any help would be appreciated..
Message 1 of 11
RX
Luminary
Luminary

Re: Drive size didn't change after removing 30gb?

Is your NAS a Duo v1 or Duo v2? Kindly check this link: http://www.rnasguide.com/2012/01/09/how ... -or-nv-v2/

What is the current FW version of your NAS?

Have you tried to reboot your NAS?

Is your NAS set on XRAID?
Message 2 of 11
Nhellie
Virtuoso

Re: Drive size didn't change after removing 30gb?

Can you try disabling the recycle bin then reboot the unit again?
Message 3 of 11
glamisman
Aspirant

Re: Drive size didn't change after removing 30gb?

Thanks for the reply's, I believe from the pictures it is a V2,I have rebooted the drive, it is set to XRAID and I have updated the firmware, but I will check the version when I get home, how to you disable the recycle bin.

Thanks
Message 4 of 11
Nhellie
Virtuoso

Re: Drive size didn't change after removing 30gb?

this is for v1 so we need to know the correct version of the NAS.


Log in to the NAS Frontview.
Click Shares > Share list. This brings up a list of your shares.
Click the pen and paper icon under CIFS for the share you want to enable the recycle bin for.
Scroll down to Recycle Bin and unselect the checkbox Enable Recycle Bin. (this is where you can also adjust the settings for when the files should be automatically deleted and the size limit.)
Click Apply in the lower right corner.
Message 5 of 11
glamisman
Aspirant

Re: Drive size didn't change after removing 30gb?

It looks like v2, but mine has a 2 usbs and 1 SATA port, the firmware is 6.2.2. ReadyNAS102.

Thanks
Message 6 of 11
mdgm-ntgr
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Re: Drive size didn't change after removing 30gb?

Ah, then you need to delete some snapshots of the share in question to free up the space.
Message 7 of 11
glamisman
Aspirant

Re: Drive size didn't change after removing 30gb?

How do you remove snapshots, I see that there are 40 (10 months protection), but when I select the share and select snapshot it asks new snapshot name.

Thanks
Message 8 of 11
vandermerwe
Master

Re: Drive size didn't change after removing 30gb?

Snapshot will create a new manual snapshot.
You need to click on Shares, then the share in which you want to remove snapshots, then click on recover.
You can then select the view the suits you best. You will be able to view the sanpshots.
Click on the one you want to delete and select Delete.

Back it up. Use UPS.
Infrant Readynas NV+ | Readynas Ultra 6 Plus | Readynas 316
Message 9 of 11
glamisman
Aspirant

Re: Drive size didn't change after removing 30gb?

vandermerwe wrote:
Snapshot will create a new manual snapshot.
You need to click on Shares, then the share in which you want to remove snapshots, then click on recover.
You can then select the view the suits you best. You will be able to view the sanpshots.
Click on the one you want to delete and select Delete.


Thanks I will try that later today..
Message 10 of 11
glamisman
Aspirant

Re: Drive size didn't change after removing 30gb?

vandermerwe, thanks for the info, it worked great...
Message 11 of 11
Top Contributors
Discussion stats
  • 10 replies
  • 7201 views
  • 0 kudos
  • 5 in conversation
Announcements