× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: How to access actual samba configuration

Steedvlx600
Luminary

How to access actual samba configuration

I've seen a lot of talk. But no answers, on accessing SMB and other configurations on this unit. How do you SEE what is inside the system? Can I connect a monitor and keyboard? Is there a bash terminal to access?

So far, I have been infuriated by the lack of basic access to simple things like directory permissions and the like. I'm no Linux pro. But, I'm not a complete idiot either.

I am trying to get my home shares accessible from Ubuntu 16.04 using Samba. And, while all of the Linux machines can SEE the server in the workgroup, CONNECT to the server, and even access some files on the server... Nothing I do has enabled me to access my home directory SMB shares on the server from any linux client. I can easily access SMB shares between the Linux machines themselves. So, I know Samba is working and configured correctly on those server/client pairs.

Everything in /data such as all the default folders is accessible... But, the ../home folder doesn't even appear in the list. It's as if it was HIDDEN... And, the server doesn't force a user/pass entry when accessing it using Samba client. So, how does it know what user is accessing? I thought I disabled anonymous access in SMB Plus.

1) Exactly HOW do we access the .hidden directories and config files on the system? A whole lot of talk... But, no answers about this.

2) How to you edit them to disallow anonymous access? OR simply force the unit to make all shares visible?

3) How do you FORCE the unit to require a user/pass combination for SMB shares? So, that it "knows" what shares to serve up...

My theory is that IF login was forced, then the unit 'should' migrate the correct directories to the client /mnt automatically... shouldn't it?