× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Mirrored NAS boxes

dmahon1
Aspirant

Mirrored NAS boxes

Is it possible to have mirrored readynasses?

Eg - have two addresses A and B. Each has a NAS. A and B are linked by the internet, although the link is not amazingly speedy hence the two NAS.each end also has a WIFI router. Whichever address I am at, I can access the data with wifi from the local NAS on my laptop, and any changes are propagated to the other NAS. Propogation could happen at a fixed time of day as a backup job, rather than in real time. Each end may also have a fixed PC.
Message 1 of 10
PapaBear1
Guide

Re: Mirrored NAS boxes

It is possible. I have not done it, so I am not an expert, but I believe replicate can be used for this. I will leave to others who have experience with it to state how it is to be done.
Message 2 of 10
TeknoJnky
Hero

it is possible to mirror data from one nas to another via backup jobs, but not 2 way replication*.

@ papabear, the replicate service is only 1 way, it does not perform 2 way mirroring.

*the egnyte service has something that may work for you, but it isn't free, its a paid monthly service.

If the data set you need to replicate is small, you might be able to get away with setting up dropbox addon on both nas, it should replicate via dropbox but obviously you will be limited to whatever size dropbox account you have.
Message 3 of 10
dmahon1
Aspirant

How about this, which I just found?

http://kb.netgear.com/app/answers/detai ... with-rsync

is it that simple? Are there any downsides?

It's unlikely that the same file will be altered on both systems before the next "backup" takes place

What happens if I alter a copy on share2 and the next "backup" job is share1-> share2? Will the new changes on share2 be overwritten with the old copy from share1?
Message 4 of 10
StephenB
Guru

Note this is not true 2-way replication.

downsides: