× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

NAS DUO System Failure

penyart
Aspirant

NAS DUO System Failure

I am new to supporting my NAS though I have had it for years. I just did the plug an dplay and moved movies and musing into the sytem, primarily. I have two 500GB 3.5" drives installed running Raid X.

This week the system began making un usual noises. I acessed thorugh the web interface and found that one of the disks reported a status of 
dead. I shut the systsem down, took a replacement drive and inserted it hoping for the best. Now the system will not even get online I just get a flashing blue light on the front.

Researching I am prepared to take the two old drives and use a Linux Reader and recover my data. I hope?

My biggest question is how do I know if the disk is bad or the netgear Duo is bad so I don't waste money buying hardware I don't need. No support from Netgear on that topic.

Thanks to anyone on providing my best steps to take.

Message 1 of 8

Accepted Solutions
penyart
Aspirant

Re: NAS DUO System Failure

Thanks for all the help. I successfully added two new 1 B drives and am wokring at recovering the dta from the two 500GB drives I removed. I am also investigating the best backup system to this back up system using the USB backup funciton.

Thank you again!

Hope your year delivers you success and happiness

View solution in original post

Message 7 of 8

All Replies
JennC
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Hello penyart,

Welcome to community!