× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: NAS not available via network after replacing degraded HD

Rinzler
Aspirant

NAS not available via network after replacing degraded HD

I have a RR2312 that I've been using for a few years now. The UI alerted me that I had a degraded Harddrive, so I powered down the unit, replaced the hard drive with a new same size, closed up everything and flipped it back on. I understand that it takes some time for things to rebuild but, the unit has not poppped back up on my network, the fans are at full speed and it has been running like this for over 1 week. I'm not sure what to do from here. I don't want to power the unit off and on when I don't know what state it is in, and I do not want to lose my data so I've been waiting with the impression it just needs time to rebuild and then come back online. But, after this long of time waited, I'm afraid that something is not right. If the UI was available to give me some sort of progress, that would be great. but I have no access. I had a 1 HD redudancy setup and have replaced HD before with no issue. 

PLZ help. 

Message 1 of 9

Accepted Solutions
StephenB
Guru

@Rinzler wrote:

... The web UI should always be available if the unit is on. 

Well, there are some scenarios where that might not be possible.  For instance, if the failed drive locks up the SATA bus.

Were you replacing disk 1?  Normally that's what the system will boot from.

@Rinzler wrote:

I powered down the unit and, and this time removed the new HD and powered the unit back on... and it's now back online in the state it was in before with it showing the main volume as degraded. So this is good progress as I have something to work with. New HD is most likely DOA. 

Great.

View solution in original post

Message 4 of 9

All Replies
Marc_V
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Hi @Rinzler

Welcome to the Community!