× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Newbie Assistance Required - RN214 Transfer from PC

iancoleman
Aspirant

Newbie Assistance Required - RN214 Transfer from PC

Hi Guys

First post as a total newbie but in need of assistance if anyone is able.

Trying to transfer ripped content from my PC to my NAS - have connected via ethernet from PC direct to NAS. When powering on the NAS the assigned IP shows in display which I then set to my PC adapter settings using subnet 255.255.255.0. Try to connect via browser (Chrome) but wont connect. Any suggestions or obvious blunder I'm making?

Have been able to transfer wirelessly but takes forever. RaidAR doesnt see the NAS when connected with the above IP settings.

Hopefully this is just newbiow stupidity and someone can rescue me!

Cheers

Model: RN214|4 BAY Desktop ReadyNAS Storage
Message 1 of 13
StephenB
Guru

@iancoleman wrote:

When powering on the NAS the assigned IP shows in display which I then set to my PC adapter settings using subnet 255.255.255.0. Try to connect via browser (Chrome) but wont connect. Any suggestions or obvious blunder I'm making?

First of all, it's simpler to connect the NAS and the PC to your router LAN ports, and not do a direct connect to the PC.

If I understand you correctly, you are setting the PC adapter to the same IP address as the NAS.  That's a mistake.  You need to use a different IP address that's on the same subnet (in this case, that means the last field should be different from what the NAS is using).  For instance, if the NAS is using 192.168.168.168, then set the PC to use 192.168.168.100.  Use a number between 1 and 254 in the last field.  Also, connect using the NAS IP address - don't try to use it's host name.