× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Not sure what this RNDU4000 is

junpit2
Aspirant

Not sure what this RNDU4000 is

Hi

Just bought a RNDU4000 off ebay for setting up a new nas at home. I've been working in IT for over 20 years and I'm a bit surprised about this unit. I was expecting it to be different. The web interface looks very different and the device doesnt seem to be running when expected. No add ons or ability to install any etc. message.log says SunOS on boot.

I logged into it using a admin/password when I expected it to be admin/netgear1 and the device says its a readydata 3.04. It wanted a firmware update. Its now runing firmware 1.4.5. Any advice please.

-Darren

Message 1 of 6
StephenB
Guru

@junpit2 wrote:

I logged into it using a admin/password when I expected it to be admin/netgear1 and the device says its a readydata 3.04. It wanted a firmware update. Its now runing firmware 1.4.5. Any advice please.

It sounds like someone managed to load the ReadyData firmware onto the Ultra-4.  There is a software manual here: http://www.downloads.netgear.com/files/GDC/RD5200/ReadyDATA_OS_SW_UM-09.pdf

It is running the current firmware.

Netgear won't provide support for used equipment.  But I think @Sandshark might have gotten OS-6 to run on a real ReadyData platform, and he might be able to help you convert the Ultra again to run OS 6 firmware.  

Message 2 of 6
mdgm
Virtuoso

Sounds like you picked up a unit from a beta test from a long while back where testers were provided Ultra 4 units running ReadyDATA OS.

The EEPROM would have been wiped by the conversion to run ReadyDATA OS.

USB Boot Recovery + manually fixing the EEPROM would get it back up and running properly on RAIDiator-x86 or ReadyNAS OS 6.

Message 3 of 6
junpit2
Aspirant

Ok. I’m going to stop there I think. The seller clearly didn’t realise. It was a recovery company.