× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

ReadyNAS 424 Swapping disks

EagleTRL
Aspirant

ReadyNAS 424 Swapping disks

I am new to the ReadyNAS appliances - and NAS in general, so excuse if this is real basic.

I bought a RN424 and loaded it with three used disks just to test it out before committing with "real" NAS-grade disks.  The current disks are a 1.5TB and 2 - 1TB drives.  I only have about 10% (35GB) of the total storage in use, and have two new 6TB drives on order.

I think it would make sense to replace the 1.5TB drive with one of the new drives and put the second new drive in the empty slot.  Or would it be better to have the extra .5TB and replace one of the 1TB drives?

Also, how do I go about migrating the data off of the drive I will replace before I remove it?

I appreciate any advice!

Thanks.

Model: RN424|ReadyNAS 424 – High-performance Business Data Storage - 4-Bay
Message 1 of 5

Accepted Solutions
StephenB
Guru

Re: ReadyNAS 424 Swapping disks

@EagleTRL wrote:

Since the two 1TB drives are older, I would like to run some tests on them.  I noticed that there is an option for "Disk Test" under the System:Volume tab, but I can not find any documentation on it.  I ran the process, and got messages that the disk test had started and finished, but I can not find where the results are displayed.  

It runs the long disk test using smartctl.  Download the log zip file from the web ui, and look in disk_info.log - that has all the SMART stats.

View solution in original post

Message 5 of 5

All Replies
Marc_V
NETGEAR Employee Retired

@EagleTRL

Welcome to the Community!

There are two ways to expand your volume. Vertical and Horizontal expansion.

• Horizontal expansion. Expand the volume by adding more disks to the volume.

• Vertical expansion. Expand the volume by replacing disks in the volume with larger-capacity disks.