× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

ReadyNAS Encryption

HSTPC
Aspirant

ReadyNAS Encryption

Hello,

I am a new admin with a RR2312. No matter what I type in the Model field, it blanks it immediately :-(.

I have created several volumes on the NAS. I would like to use one of the volumes to store historical backups of Hyper-V and System State backups for the purpose of recovery against Ransomware attack.

I would like that volume to be encrypted except for when I am copying data to it.

I read that the only way to decrypt a volume is to reboot the NAS with the USB key inserted. After I'm done, the only way to encrypt the volume is to reboot the NAS with the USB key removed.

Is there any way to accomplish encrypting/decrypting without rebooting the NAS?

Thank you.

Message 1 of 6
StephenB
Guru

Re: ReadyNAS Encryption

@HSTPC wrote:

I would like that volume to be encrypted except for when I am copying data to it.

This is a bit confused.  If a volume is encrypted, then it is always encrypted.  The on-disk structures are what are encrypted.

Perhaps more importantly, encrypting the physical volume doesn't provide any network security. Anyone with the network credentials can still read/write to the shares on the volume.  So encrypting the volume wouldn't give you any protection from a ransomware attack.

Options that could help with ransomware are

• Cloud backup (which often does have built-in protection)
  • air-gapping a backup in some way
  • disabling file sharing protocols on the backup destination.