× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

ReadyNAS NV+ RND4000 v2 corrupt boot and a newbie

sparky3366
Aspirant

ReadyNAS NV+ RND4000 v2 corrupt boot and a newbie

Hi folks,newbie alert... Ive just been given an ReadyNAS NV+ RND4000 v2 and the raidar software is telling me I have a corrupt boot. The unit has 2x seagate 2TB drives plus 2 empty bays. The drives do need formatting but I cant do that until Im up and running. When I try to run RAIDiator after unzipping from the netgear site, there isnt a usable file format...im bing told that.13 isnt a usable file format.

Please note, Im a newbie and have been around PC's since the old 386 and 486 sx25's...trouble is I'm now blind. I can still do most things but this is all new to me.

Any help appreciated...

Message 1 of 6

Accepted Solutions
StephenB
Guru

Re: ReadyNAS NV+ RND4000 v2 corrupt boot and a newbie

@sparky3366 wrote:

It's definitely a v2 with external power pack...

thanks😊

Great.  The factory default through the boot menu is described on pages 24-25 here: http://www.downloads.netgear.com/files/GDC/RND2110/ReadyNAS_Duov2_NV+v2_HW_en_23-Mar-12.pdf

Another way to proceed is to zero the drives (or unformat them), and then insert them into the NAS and power it up.  That will automatically do a factory install.

View solution in original post

Message 4 of 6

All Replies
StephenB
Guru

What you need to do is a factory default procedure from the boot menu.  That will reformat the disks and install the operating system on them.

But the procedure for doing that does depend a bit on whether you have an NV+ or an NV+ v2.  Although you say you have a v2, many NV+ owners mistakenly think they have a v2.  That's because the labeling is confusing.

An NV+

• runs 4.1.x firmware
  • says NV+ on the front chassis
  • has an internal power supply

An NV+ v2

• runs 5.3.x firmware
  • says NV+ v2 on the front chassis