× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

ReadyNAS Ultra 6 rattling

sventunus
Aspirant

ReadyNAS Ultra 6 rattling

Dear Netgear,

I have been owning a ReadyNAS Ultra 6 for about 2 years, and since a couple of weeks the device is making a rattling sound all the time.
I removed the side panels from the case to check if a wire was touching a fan or something, but don't see anything unusual.
So I suspect it is the drives that are making the noise.

Should I be worried that my drives are going to fail anytime soon?
And what can I do about this rattling sound? It's very annoying.
The disks all report OK in Frontview (5 disks total, 6 drive bays).

Thank you for your feedback!

Sven
Message 1 of 9
kossboss
Guide

Re: ReadyNAS Ultra 6 rattling

If 1 drive fails replace it immediately - you can hot swap it or swap it with a shutdown
Check logs frequently - for ATA Errors: 1 and over - Reallocated Sectors: 50 and over - thats when we replace drives (if you purchased the NAS with drives, call us when you see errors like that and we will replace the disks) If you purchased disks seperately please call drive manufacturer.
Message 2 of 9
StephenB
Guru

Sometimes a failing disk will rattle, sometimes it is a chassis fan.

One way to check is to power down the NAS, remove all the drives (labeling the slots!) and then turn it back on. If it still rattles, it is the chassis.

Turn the NAS off, and replace the disks in their original positions.
Message 3 of 9
sventunus
Aspirant

@kossboss: the logs show no anomalities, the drives look fine.
@StephenB: that's a great tip, will try that this weekend, thanks! Cannot shutdown the NAS right now as it is a production unit that has too much going on. This weekend I could test, however.