× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Readynas vs Synology

Dominick1
Aspirant

Readynas vs Synology

Hi,

I am new to the entire nas idea,
But since we're working on several computers and we pay a lot of money every month to dropbox to keep our data synced somebody suggested me to get a nas.
So I compared the nas out there and found out that the best choices were readynas, qnap and synology. Since qnap and synology are pretty much the same and the interface of synology is better I crossed off qnap.

Which leaves me with the choice: readynas and synology.

Synology offers a interface demo on their website to try their web interface but I couldn't find this for readynas,
And for the video's i've seen on youtube, where the readynas has a blueisch interface, It didn't seem very user friendly to me.

So I was wondering if there are more users worrying about the same and maybe some can offer me advice?
Message 1 of 7
mdgm-ntgr
NETGEAR Employee Retired

Re: Readynas vs Synology

You can see a simulation of the x86 (Ultra/Pro) web-admin interface here: https://frontview.readynas.com

The discontinued Duo/NV+ (v1) web-admin interface is similar to the x86 interface.

The new Duo/NV+ v2 interface is shown in the software manual: http://www.readynas.com/docs

Note that the Duo/NV+ v2 is ARM. You cannot migrate to ARM from Sparc (Duo/NV+ v1) or x86.

Here's how to tell the difference between the Duo/NV+ (v1) and the v2: How to tell whether I have a Duo v1 or Duo v2 or NV+ v1 or NV+ v2
Message 2 of 7
Dominick1
Aspirant

Thank you,
What is your opinion about the interface?
Message 3 of 7
mdgm-ntgr
NETGEAR Employee Retired

The Sparc/x86 interface is functional and gets the job done. Most users should rarely need to use the web-interface of their units.

The Duo/NV+ v2 interface is good and with 5.3.5 (currently in beta) we're seeing much demanded features being added.