× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Succesfully changed HDD, but what else to expect?

nhasenoehrl
Aspirant

Succesfully changed HDD, but what else to expect?

Hello everyone, 

I have been running a ReadyNAS 104 since July 2015, very successfully. Now, for the first time, I received a warning that one of my four 6TB disks had an increased failure rate. So I bought a new one and changed it. It is resynchronizing as I write this.

Exchanging more HDDs will not be a problem, given that the resynchronisation of this new one is finished before the next one fails.

BUT now I have been thinking: What else is going to fail? I am really not an expert, but this thing apparently has some kind of motherboard, and it has a network card. It may have a RAID controller.

So, I wonder, in a seven year old system, are those components likely to fail anytime soon? And if so, are my data safe? Can those components be exchanged, or is it time to buy a whole new NAS?

Any suggestions are welcome.

Thank you.

Norbert

Model: ReadyNAS-1000S|ReadyNAS-1000S
Message 1 of 4

Accepted Solutions
StephenB
Guru

Re: Succesfully changed HDD, but what else to expect?

@nhasenoehrl wrote:

What else is going to fail? I am really not an expert, but this thing apparently has some kind of motherboard, and it has a network card. It may have a RAID controller.

So, I wonder, in a seven year old system, are those components likely to fail anytime soon? And if so, are my data safe? Can those components be exchanged, or is it time to buy a whole new NAS?

RAID isn't enough to keep your data safe (no matter how new your NAS is).  The best way to keep it safe is to have at least one backup on another device.  So my first advice is to do that.  Many folks use USB drives for backup - my own approach is to back up to another NAS.