× NETGEAR will be terminating ReadyCLOUD service by July 1st, 2023. For more details click here.
Orbi WiFi 7 RBE973

Re: Transfer speed on rn204

JezZedex204
Aspirant

Transfer speed on rn204

Hi there. I am new to this NAS environment and need to find out a thing or two to find out if things are good or if there could be an issue.

I am copying data (photos, videos and cad drawings, etc) from the PC to my RN204.

The PC is running Win7 and has an i7 PROCESSOR WITH 16Gig of Ram.

NAS had 4 new WD Red 3TB HDD installed. THe setup seems to have gone smoothly and I think it is Raid5.

The problem (I think) is that copying data to the NAS I am averaging a speed of 11.8MB/sec. Is that normal?

If I connect an external HDD in a docking station directly to the NAS, either using the USB 3 or the e-sata connections, the speed stays the same.

I have downloaded the performance tester as suggested in other posts and the speed I mentin above is from that. On screen during copying data it is a bit less. 10MB/sec

I am unsure of these speeds because if I copy data from one HDD to another one either internally or to the docking station I see speeds of 80 - 90 MB/sec.

What am I misunderstanding or getting wrong, if I am?

Any suggestions or help appreciated. If it can be kept simple I would be most grateful. Many thanks. JezTest 1.JPG

Message 1 of 25

Accepted Solutions
JezZedex204
Aspirant

Update!

I bought a switch and connected it to the set up. Now the transfer speeds are more in line with what I would have expected. Copying a folder of mixed info (pdf's, photos, docs, xls s/sheets) and going over at 50MB/sec.

Much better. Just to says thanks to StephenB and Sandshark for all the help figuring this out. If this speed is what I should be getting great. If it could be higher I would be interested to hear further ideas.

Man Happy

View solution in original post

Message 15 of 25

All Replies
StephenB
Guru